Itasca County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Itasca County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Itasca County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||October 27, 1849|
|County Seat||Grand Rapids|
|Address||Itasca County Courthouse|
123 4th St NE
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
Itasca County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Two Latin words for "truth" and "head". The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Itasca County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Recorder-Registrar has birth and marriage records from 1891,
death records from 1894, burial records from 1900,
land records from 1883 and military records from 1919.
Court Administrator has probate records from 1896,
divorce and court records from 1950.
Minnesota has Historical Society has divorce
and court records to 1950. 
History[edit | edit source]
It was organized in 1857, then deorganized in 1858, and reorganized in 1891. It was attached to Washington, Crow Wing, Benton, Chisago, Morrison, St. Louis, and Aitkin counties.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1849--Itasca County was created 27 October 1849 from unorganized territories as an original county.
County seat: Grand Rapids 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Cities[edit | edit source]
Bigfork | Bovey | Calumet | Cohasset | Coleraine | Deer River | Effie | Grand Rapids | Keewatin | La Prairie | Marble | Nashwauk | Squaw Lake | Taconite | Warba | Zemple
Townships[edit | edit source]
Alvwood Township | Arbo Township | Ardenhurst Township | Balsam Township | Bearville Township | Bigfork Township | Blackberry Township | Bowstring Township | Carpenter Township | Deer River Township | Feeley Township | Good Hope Township | Goodland Township | Grand Rapids Township | Grattan Township |Greenway Township | Harris Township | Iron Range Township | Kinghurst Township | Lake Jessie Township | Lawrence Township | Liberty Township | Lone Pine Township | Marcell Township | Max Township | Moose Park Township | Morse Township | Nashwauk Township | Nore Township | Oteneagen Township | Pomroy Township | Sago Township | Sand Lake Township | Spang Township \ Splithand Township | Stokes Township | Third River Township | Trout Lake Township | Wabana Township | Wawina Township | Wildwood Township | Wirt Township
Unincorporated Communities[edit | edit source]
Alvwood | Ball Club | Bass Lake | Bear River | Bergville | Blackberry | Bowstring | Dora Lake | Dunbar | Goodland | Gratten | Gunn | Houpt | Inger | Jaynes | Jessie Lake | Mack | Marcell | Martin | Max | Nass | Orth | Pengilly | Pomroy | Rosy | Spring Lake | Suomi | Swan River | Talmoon | Togo | Wawina | Wirt
Unorganized Territories[edit | edit source]
Bowstring Lake | Deer Lake | Effie | Little Sand Lake | Northeast Itasca
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Itasca – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Itasca County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Itasca County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Itasca County Genealogical Club
PO Box 261
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Itasca County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Itasca_County,_Minnesota accessed 13 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Itasca County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Itasca County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).