Italy Church Records
|Italy Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- 1 Italy Genealogy Research Using the Wiki - Video Series
- 2 Definition
- 3 Coverage
- 4 Information Recorded in Church Registers
- 5 Finding Church Records
- 6 Search Strategies
- 7 Records of Non-Catholic Religions
- 8 Related FamilySearch Blog Articles
For information about records for non-Christian religions in Italy, go to the Religious Records page.
Italy Genealogy Research Using the Wiki - Video Series[edit | edit source]
- Italy Research With the Wiki Part 7a of 13: Finding a Church Baptism Record Online, Lesson: Using the FamilySearch Research Wiki to locate online Italian baptism records in church records for genealogy. Learn how to translate the certificate.
- Italy Research With the Wiki Part 7b of 13: Finding a Church Baptism Record Online, Case Study: A case study demonstrating using the FamilySearch Research Wiki to locate online Italian church baptism records for genealogy. Learn how to translate the record.
- Italy Research With the Wiki Part 8 of 13: Finding a Church Marriage Record Online: Using the FamilySearch Research Wiki to locate online Italian church marriage records for genealogy. Learn how to translate the record.
- Italy Research With the Wiki Part 9 of 13: Finding a Church Death/Burial Record Online: Learn to use the FamilySearch Research Wiki to locate online Italian church death and burial records for genealogy. Learn to translate the record.
- Italy Research With the Wiki Part 10 of 13: Writing to a Priest for Church Records: Learn how to use the Italy Letter Writing Guide to write to a priest in Italy to ask him to search the church records for you.
Definition[edit | edit source]
Records of births, marriages, and deaths are commonly called vital records. Church records are vital records kept by priests and are often called parish registers or church books. They include records of christenings (baptisms), marriages, and deaths (burials). In addition, church records may include confirmations, first communions, and church census records. Church records [registri ecclesiastici] are excellent sources for accurate information on names; dates; and places of births, marriages, and deaths.
Coverage[edit | edit source]
In general, the church began keeping records in 1563 because of reforms proclaimed at the Council of Trent. Not all parishes conformed until much later. Most parishes have kept registers from about 1595 to the present. A few parishes kept records as early as the 1300s. The church records of Palermo, for example, start about 1350, and the baptistry in Firenze has records from the early 1400s.
Church records are crucial for research before the civil government started keeping vital records, which began about 1809 to 1820. After that, church records continued to be kept but often contain less information. For more information about government vital records, see Italy Civil Registration- Vital Records.
Nearly every person who lived in Italy was recorded in a church record during the last 200 to 300 years.
Although the Italian government recognizes other religions, the Roman Catholic Church is traditionally recognized as the state church because most Italians are Roman Catholic. All references to church records in Italy, unless otherwise specified, refer to Catholic records. For more information about other churches in Italy, see Italy Church History.
Unfortunately some Italian church records were destroyed in the various wars throughout Italy’s history. Other records were destroyed when parish churches burned down. Some were lost, and still others have been badly worn and destroyed by insects, vermin, and moisture.
Information Recorded in Church Registers[edit | edit source]
Baptisms[edit | edit source]
Children were generally baptized within a few days of birth. Baptismal registers usually give:
- the names of the infant and parent,
- status of legitimacy,
- names of witnesses or godparents, and
- the baptism date.
You may also find:
- the child’s birth date,
- father’s occupation, and
- the family’s place of residence.
Death or marriage information has sometimes been added as a note in the margin. The street name or family’s address may also be given for larger cities.
Earlier registers typically give less information. They may give only the names of the child and father and the baptism date. They may not contain the mother’s name, or they may contain only her given name. Early records only record the baptism date; later records may include the birth date.
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Couples were generally married in the home parish of the bride. Typically, girls married between ages 18 and 25. Men married in their twenties.
Marriage registers give:
- the date of the marriage and
- the names of the bride and groom,
- whether the betrothed were single or widowed
- the names of witnesses.
They usually also include other information about the bride and groom:
- such as their ages,
- residences, occupations,
- names of parents, and
For second and later marriages, the records may name previous spouses and their death dates. A note is sometimes made whether a parent or other party gave permission for the marriage.
In addition to the marriage date, marriage registers sometimes give the dates on which the marriage intentions (banns) were announced.
Marriage Banns[edit | edit source]
A wedding was generally was announced for three consecutive Sunday masses prior to the wedding. These announcements, called banns, gave opportunity for anyone to come forward who knew of any reasons why the couple should not be married.
In addition to or instead of the actual marriage registers, some Italian churches kept separate books to record marriage banns.
Burials[edit | edit source]
Burials and deaths were recorded in the church record of the parish where the person died or was buried. The burial usually took place within a day or two of the death in the parish where the person died.
Burial registers give:
- the name of the deceased and
- the date and place of death or burial
- the person’s age,
- place of residence,
- cause of death and
- the names of spouses and if they are living or deceased.
The registers, especially early registers, may also give the date and place of birth and even the parents’ names of the deceased. The birth date and birthplace on a burial record may not be accurate since the informant may not have had complete information.
Burial records may also exist for individuals who were born before the earliest birth records and marriage records, and they may start later than the baptismal and marriage records of the same parish.
Stillbirths were sometimes recorded in church baptismal or burial registers. In most cases, however, the birth is not recorded.
Church Census[edit | edit source]
In Italy the parish priest was often required to collect taxes for the state from his parishioners. He would sometimes record information about his parishioners and the tax in a special set of volumes, which were called church censuses. In Italian the church census is called the stato delle anime. In Latin it is status animarum. Both terms mean "state of the souls."
Not all priests regularly kept church censuses. Where the censuses do exist, the registers list all family members living in a household and their ages or birth dates. Deceased children were not listed. Married children, if living in the same household, were recorded with the family but as a separate household. Familial relationships and addresses were also noted. The information recorded in church books varied over time. Later records generally have more complete information than the earlier ones.
Indexes[edit | edit source]
- These registers were usually written in freehand with about three to eight entries per page. Sometimes you will find an alphabetical index arranged by Latinized given name at the beginning or end of the volume. [Correction. It is much more complicated than this. Actually, when inserted in the record (not the stand-alone index) the “internal” index may be in the beginning, the end, or anywhere in the middle of the record, or in the proceeding record or nowhere at all! There may be no index, one index, two indices or possibly even three indices per record.
- When part of the record (as opposed to the stand-alone index) it is almost always organized alphabetically in a group based upon the first letter only, of the first name (nome) not family name (cognome) and may be in Latin (uncommon) Italian or Sicilian, or somewhat transliterated.
- The same person could have his name spelled four different ways, or a nickname used, or any one of five different “nome” used in different places. Furthermore the name in the stand-alone index may be an “Italianized” version of a name originally written in a variation of the Sicilian language (note I did not say dialect). It is then organized in sequence of entry (with corresponding page number, not image number), which is usually based upon date, but not always. Names are often abbreviated.
- When in the stand-alone index names are organized in groups based upon the first letter of the family name (cognome), and then by date. Any “whoops” entries may be bunched together in semi-random dates at the end of the entries for any particular letter, so you must check there also. LJDeF]
- Frequently the name of the principle person or persons identified in the record will be noted in the left hand margin. Another helpful church record is the stato delle anime or status animarum (church census).
Finding Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records were kept at the local parish church. The term parish refers to the jurisdiction of a church priest. Parishes are local congregations, usually in one town only, but sometimes they included other villages in their boundaries.
To find church records, you must know the town where your ancestor lived. You should also determine the parish that your ancestor’s town belonged to so that you will know which parish registers to search. Larger towns frequently have more than one parish.
The headquarters of the parish is the town where the church building is located. Although most church buildings were usually named for a saint, the FamilySearch Catalog may refer to a parish by the name of the town where the parish church was located. In large cities that have many parishes, the catalog usually uses the parish church name (such as San Giovanni) to distinguish the records of different parishes.
Duplicate Church Records[edit | edit source]
If the original church records that you need have been lost or destroyed or are illegible, you may be able to find a duplicate church record. Unfortunately it was not standard practice to keep duplicate records until the 1900s. But some dioceses, such as that of Torino, started making duplicates as early as 1820.
Duplicates, when they exist, are normally located at the curia vescovile (diocesan archives).
Records at the Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has records from many Italian parishes up to 1900 and some up to 1925. However, if a record has been destroyed, was never kept, has not been microfilmed, or is restricted from public access by the law, the Family History Library does not have a copy.
To find out if the Family History Library has the records you need, check the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town where the parish was. (The parish may not be in the town where your ancestor lived.) Look in the Locality Search under:
ITALY, [PROVINCE], [TOWN] - CHURCH RECORDS
New records are continually added to the Family History Library collection from many sources. Do not give up if records are not available yet. Check the FamilySearch Catalog again every year or two for the records you need.
Records Not at the Family History Library[edit | edit source]
Italy has no single repository for church records. If the baptism, marriage, and burial records have not been microfilmed, you will have to contact or visit the local parish or archive in Italy.
Local Parishes[edit | edit source]
Virtually all church registers are still maintained by the local parish. Some duplicates, for limited time periods, may be housed at the central archives of the diocese. For example, duplicates exists for the Diocese of Torino from 1820 to about 1899.
Parishes will sometimes answer correspondence. You may send an inquiry to:
Il parroco di [name of parish, town, province] Italy
- Italy: Tuscany: Church Parish Records: This is an index of over 5,000 parish registers from Tuscany, Italy, containing baptism, marriage, and burial records. For some, it gives date ranges and names, and for others it shows types of record available in which date ranges, and a link to where they are physically located with an address to contact the diocese.
You may find a list of parishes by searching for "parishes in (name of the comune)". If this isn't successful, try replacing the name of the comune with the name of the province. For the area of Italy where I do research, this search led me to the diocese which includes my area. I have found a list of parishes in this diocese on wikipedia and on the Italian language website of the diocese. The official webpage of the diocese is linked from the wikipedia page.
Church Archives[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has microfilmed records at the diocesan archives in Caltanisseta, Torino, Trapani, and Parma. The library has planned microfilming projects at other Italian church archives. This is a major project that will continue for several years.
When you write to Italy for genealogical information, your letter should be written in Italian. Send the following:
- Check or money order for the search fee in local currency, when possible.
- Full name and sex of the person sought.
- Names of the parents, if known.
- Approximate date and place of the event.
- Your relationship to the person.
- Reason for the request (family history or medical).
- Request for a complete copy of the original record.
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
Wiki articles describing online collections, including a link to the records, are found at:
- Italy, Benevento, Arcidiocesi di Benevento, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Biella, Borriana, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Biella, Ponderano, Parrocchia di San Lorenzo, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Caltanissetta, Diocesi di Caltanissetta, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Catania, Diocesi di Acireale, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Catania, Arcidiocesi di Catania, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Catania, Diocesi di Caltagirone, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, L'Aquila, Camarda, Parrocchia di San Giovanni Battista, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Mantova, Brede, Parrocchia di Santa Margherita Vergine e Martire, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Napoli, Barano d'Ischia, Parocchia di San Sebastiano Martire, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Napoli, Fontana, Parocchia di Santa Maria della Mercede - La Sacra, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Napoli, Lacco Ameno, Parocchia di SS. Annunziata in Santa Maria delle Grazie, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Napoli, Panza, Parocchia di San Leonardo Abate, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Napoli, Sant'Angelo, Parocchia di San Michele Arcangelo, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Napoli, Serrara, Parocchia di Santa Maria del Carmine, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Napoli, Testaccio, Parocchia di San Giorgio Martire, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Palermo, Diocesi di Monreale, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Pola and Trieste, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Rovigo, Arquà Polesine, Parrocchia di Sant'Andrea Apostolo, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Siracusa, Sortino, Parocchia di San Giovanni Apostolo ed Evangelista, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Terni, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Trento, Diocesi di Trento, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Italy, Vicenza, Casoni, Parocchia di San Rocco, Catholic Church Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Search Strategies[edit | edit source]
Effective use of church records includes the following strategies:
- When you find an ancestor’s birth or baptismal record, search for the births of siblings.
- Search for the parents’ marriage record. Typically, the marriage took place one or two years before the oldest child was born. You can also use information from the marriage record to find the parents’ birth records.
- Search for the parent’s birth records.
- If you do not find earlier generations in the parish registers, search neighboring parishes.
- Search the death registers for all known family members.
Reading the Language[edit | edit source]
Catholic records were written in Latin into the twentieth century, but some have been written in Italian. Protestant church records were generally kept in Italian. In both Catholic and Protestant records from areas near the country’s borders, you will find records written in French, German, and other languages. Local dialects may have affected the spelling of some names and words in the church records.
In most areas, printed forms were not used until the late nineteenth or early twentieth centuries. Printed forms were used as early as 1820 in the Trentino-Alto Adige region.
- You do not have to be fluent in Italian to read your documents. Genealogical records usually contain a limited vocabulary. Use this Italian Genealogical Word List to translate the important points in the document. If you find that the records are written in German, French, or Latin, click on that language link in this sentence.
- Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:
- Reading Italian Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Italian Letters
- Reading Italian Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Words and Phrases
- Reading Italian Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading Italian Records. In this lesson, you will explore several types of Italian genealogical records, including birth, baptismal, marriage, and death records.
- Italian Script Tutorial
- Italian Birth Document Translation
- Italian Marriage Document Translations
- Italian Civil Death Document Translation
Records of Non-Catholic Religions[edit | edit source]
Although the Roman Catholic Church is the dominant religion in Italy, other churches do exist and have kept records.
The Family History Library has some records for the following denominations:
- Waldensians [Valdesi]. These records follow the format of most church records but are written in French.
- Eastern Orthodox [Chiesa Ortodossa or Chiesa Greca]. Where they exist, these records are virtually identical to Roman Catholic Church records and are available at the local parishes.
- Jewish [Ebrei]. Jewish records are somewhat sparse. Two main record sources are available: the book of circumcisions and the marriage books. To identify where these records are today, contact an Israeli consulate. See also Italy Jewish Records.
transcribed and photographed by Mott, George. Monuments of Irish Interest in St. Isidore's Rome. Photos of inscriptions of Irish persons in the church of the Irish Franciscan College in Rome. Also typewritten inscriptions. Surnames, Ball, Sherlock Meighan, Curran, Bryan. covers years 1626 and 1681. Article in The irish Ancestor Vol. X.no.1.1978, pages 15-17, Family History Library Salt Lake City, Ref. 941.5 B2i vol 10-11.