Islington St Mary, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Islington St Mary, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Islington St Mary, Middlesex
Stmarysislington.jpg
St Marys Islington
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Islington
Registration District Islington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Metropolitan Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Islington St. Mary, a suburban parish, in the parliamentary borough of Finsbury, Finsbury division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 1½ mile north of London.[1]

There were a considerable number of Church of England chapelries that were built especially in the 19th Century to accommodate the influx of a large local population. Here is a "Comprehensive List of Islington Chapels and District Churches" by the year 1900.

There were places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans Methodists, Presbyterians, Irvingites, Baptists and a Roman Catholic chapel.[2][3]

The Victoria County History of Islington (1985) is available at British History Online. It includes chapters on manors, estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, established church of Scotland, missions, Muslims, Hindus, Judaism, education, and charities for the poor.[4]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Islington St. Mary Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past (Westminster)-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past Banns-Middlesex ($)
-
-
-
1700s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-2000s
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds and Allegations-London and Surrey ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Lay Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for six manors in Islington Parish: Barnsbury Manor (1633-1856), Canonbury Manor (1468-1902), Clerkenwell Manor (1400-1895), Islington Prebend Manor (1573-1900), Newington Barrow (1422-1877), and St John of Jerusalem Manor (1602-1926). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Islington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Chinley - Chiswick," In Topographical Dictionary of England 623-628. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848). British History Online, (accessed: 18 May 2010). Adapted.
  2. Lewis, Samuel. The History and Topography of the Parish of Saint Mary, Islington, in the County of Middlesex. London, 1852. Digital version at Google Books.
  3. Nelson, John. The History, Topography, and Antiquities of the Parish of St. Mary Islington, in the County of Middlesex. London, 1811. Digital version at Google Books.
  4. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 8: Islington, Stoke Newington (1985). British History Online. Date accessed: 25 March 2012.