Isleham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Isleham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newmarket|
|Parish registers: 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1675|
|Diocese||Pre-1847 - Rochester; Post 1846 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Isleham and Freckenham|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
ISLEHAM (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staploe, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles (W.) from Mildenhall. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Isleham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Isleham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Bishop's transcripts for Isleham, 1675-1841 have been digitised.
- General Baptis
- General Baptist New Connexion
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Isleham on GENUKI