Isle of Man Genealogy
|Isle of Man Wiki Topics|
|Isle of Man Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Isle of Man ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
The Isle of Man (Manx: Ellan Vannin), or simply Mann (Manx: Mannin), is a self-governing Crown dependency, located in the Irish Sea between Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales. The official languages of the Isle of Man are Manx Gaelic and English although, by the middle of the twentieth century only a few elderly native Manx speakers remained.
Getting Started with Isle of Man Research
Links to articles on getting started with Isle of Man research.
Isle of Man Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Isle of Man research.
Isle of Man Clickable Map
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Isle of Man.
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Isle of Man. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
|English Name||Manx Name|
|Peel||Purt ny h-Inshey|
|Port Erin|| Purt Çhiarn|
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Wikipedia contributors, "Isle of Man," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isle_of_Man, accessed 28 April 2016.