Ironville, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Ironville, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records. This parish is mostly in the county of Derbyshire. For more information and records, see Ironville, Derbyshire.
|Poor Law Union||Basford; Belper|
|Registration District||Basford; Belper|
|Parish registers: 1852|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1852|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
IRONVILLE, a village in Alfreton parish, Derby; and a chapelry partly also in Pentrich parish and Codnor-Park extra-parochial tract, Derby, and Selston parish, Notts. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in iron works.
SELSTON, a village and a parish in Basford district, Notts. The parish contains also the hamlets of Bagthorpe and Underwood. There are chapels for Calvinists, Baptists, and Primitive Methodists.
Ironville is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, partly in Nottinghamshire and partly in Derbyshire; created in 1850 from Selston with Underwood and Westwood Ancient Parish (Nottinghamshire) and parts of Codnor and Loscoe Ecclesiastical Parish, Pentrich Ancient Parish, Riddings Ecclesiastical Parish and Codnor Park extra-parochial (All Derbyshire); .
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Lichfield Record Office has deposited
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.