Iron County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Iron County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Iron County

Guide to Iron County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Iron County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 1, 1893
County Seat Hurley
Courthouse
Address
Iron County Courthouse
300 Taconite Street
Hurley, WI 54534-1546;
Phone. 715.561.3375


WI Iron.png

County Information

Iron County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1886 1893 1900 1886 1893

Iron County Courthouse


Iron County Courthouse
300 Taconite Street
Hurley, WI 54534-1546;
Phone. 715.561.3375

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1893;
Clerk of Courts has divorce and court records;
Registrar in Probate has probate records[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1893--Iron County was created 1 March 1893 from Ashland County.  County seat: Hurley [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

WI IRON.JPG

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ashland  • Gogebic County, Michigan  • Price  • Vilas

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

  • Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Iron County (USGenWeb Archives)

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Iron County Historical Society
303 Iron Street
Hurley 54534-1356
Telephone: 715-561-2244
Facebook

Iron River Historical Society
PO Box 416
Cable 54821-0416

Mercer Area Historical Society
PO Box 638
Mercer WI 54547
Telephone: 715 476-3462

Libraries and Societies of Iron County

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Iron County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).