Iron County, Missouri Genealogy
Guide to Iron County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Iron County, Missouri|
Location in the state of Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
|Founded||February 17, 1857|
|Address|| Iron County Courthouse|
250 S Main Street
PO Box 42
Ironton, MO 63650
Iron County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Land
- 5.6 Local Histories
- 5.7 Maps
- 5.8 Military
- 5.9 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Probate
- 5.12 Schools
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 7 References
Iron County, Missouri Record Dates
County Clerk has birth records 1883-1885, marriage, divorce, probate and land records.
The unusual shape of Iron County, Missouri, according to Goodspeed's 1888 History of Southeast Missouri, resulted from the difficulty inherent in creating the county. Land was taken from six other counties in order to form Iron County, but it became a challenge to accomplish this without reducing the size of those counties below their constitutional limits.
Iron County derives its name from its prevalence of iron ore. The county is located in a part of southeast Missouri that at one time was important as a mining center.
The county court first met 4 Aug 1857 at Arcadia. That was when Iron County was subdivided into the townships of Dent, Kaolin, Iron, Pilot Knob, Arcadia, Liberty, and Union.
The county is home to Pilot Knob, known as the site of Fort Davidson. This is where a significant Civil War battle, the Battle of Pilot Knob, took place in 1864.
For more about the history of Iron County, Missouri, see:
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
- Annapolis (ePodunk page | Wikipedia page)
- Arcadia (ePodunk page | Wikipedia page)
- Belleview (Wikipedia page)
- Bixby (Wikipedia page)
- Des Arc (Wikipedia page)
- Glover (Wikipedia page)
- Goodland (Wikipedia page)
- Ironton (county seat) (ePodunk page | Wikipedia page)
- Middle Brook (Wikipedia page)
- Pilot Knob (ePodunk page | MO Historic Towns page | Wikipedia page)
- Viburnum (ePodunk page | Wikipedia page)
- Vulcan (Wikipedia page)
In addition, see:
- Alphabetical List of Towns, 1885, Iron County, Missouri (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.|
- Links to Iron County Cemeteries (Tom Caulley's Iron Co., MO Gen. Page)
- Missouri Cemeteries Missouri Genealogy Cemeteries
- 1732-1933 - Missouri State and Territorial Census Records, 1732-1933 at FamilySearch — index and images
- The Iron County Genealogical Society has surname indexes for the 1860-1930 Federal Censuses.
- The U.S. GenWeb Archives website has the following transcriptions:
- 1860 Mortality Schedules - partial listing for Iron County
- 1890 Special Census - transcription for Iron County of the names of Civil War Union veterans and widows of veterans enumerated in the 1890 Veterans Schedules, also known as the 1890 Special Census.
- The 1910-1930 Federal censuses for Iron County are covered in the following three books:
- Iron County, Missouri 1910 Census. WorldCat.
- 1920 Iron County, Missouri Census. WorldCat.
- 1930 Iron County, Missouri Census. WorldCat.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
- Church records (contains baptisms, marriages, deaths, first communions), 1882-1913, Hogan, Missouri are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- On the mission in Missouri, 1857-1868, a book by John Joseph Hogan which describes experiences on the Missouri frontier by this Catholic missionary. View a digital version of this book at FamilySearch.
- Lohman, Marcine. Immanuel Ev. Lutheran Church of Pilot Knob, Missouri, Iron County, 1861-1931. Firestone, CO: Self-published, 2007?. WorldCat page.
- 1800 - 1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Hackworth, Sharon. Iron County, Missouri Naturalizations, 1871-1906. Arcadia: Iron County Genealogy Society, 2007. WorldCat page.
- Petition, Iron County Citizens to Joseph Washington McClurg, n.d. (MO Digital Heritage)
- Petition, Iron County Citizens to Silas B. Woodson, 1871 (MO Digital Heritage)
- Petition, Iron County Citizens to Silas B. Woodson, 9 Nov 1874 (MO Digital Heritage)
- Petition, Iron County Citizens to Thomas Clement Fletcher, n.d. (MO Digital Heritage)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local histories are available for Iron County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.
- Barnes, Thomas S. (biography, from "Goodspeed Brothers, 1894") (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Citizens of Iron County: History of Southeast Missouri Biographical Appendix (Iron County Gen. Soc.)
- Early History of Iron County: 1850-1899 (timeline; U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- First Families of Iron County, Missouri. Arcadia, MO: Iron County Genealogy Society, 2007. WorldCat page.
- Iron County Biographies (Tom Caulley's Iron Co., MO Gen. Page)
- Iron County, Missouri Records. Signal Mountain, TN: Mountain Press, 2006. WorldCat page.
- Ironton in 1868 (Iron Co. Hist. Soc.)
- History of southeast Missouri. Embracing an historical account of the counties of Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, Perry, Cape Girardeau, Bollinger, Madison, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Dunklin, Scott, Mississippi, Stoddard, Butler, Wayne and Iron. Chicago, The Goodspeed publishing co., 1888.
- Online at MissouriDigitalHeritage (Free)
- Maps of Missouri (1804-1889)
- Map of Iron County, Missouri (Secs. T30 and T31, R3E and R4E) (MO Digital Heritage)
- Plat Book of Iron County, Missouri (n.d.; MO Digital Heritage)
- Plat Book of Iron County, Missouri, 1930 (MO Digital Heritage)
- Maps of townships (Histopolis)
- 1900 - 1941 Missouri, Pre-WWII Adjutant General Enlistment Contracts, 1900-1941 at FamilySearch — images
- 1861 - 1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Missouri, Confederate Pension Applications and Soldiers Home Applications at FamilySearch — images
Service men in Iron County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Iron County, Missouri:
- Iron County Genealogy Society. When the Smoke Settled: Civil War Soldier Stories. Arcadia, MO: Iron County Genealogy Society, 2001?. WorldCat page.
- Letter, from C.R. Peck, Ironton, Iron County, to Thomas Clement Fletcher,10 Apr 1865 (MO Digital Heritage)
- Letter, from J.V. Logan, Ironton, Iron County, to Thomas Clement Fletcher, 2 Jan 1866 (MO Digital Heritage)
- Missouri Historic Towns: Explore Pilot Knob, Missouri History
- Petition, Iron County Unconditional Loyal Union Men, to Thomas Clement Fletcher, 26 Dec 1865 (MO Digital Heritage)
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Iron County:
Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri.
World War II
- 1941-1946 - Missouri, Reports of Separation Notices, 1941-1946 at FamilySearch — index
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1800 - 1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Iron County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Early Iron County, Missouri Newspaper Items (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Iron County, Missouri Newspapers (MO-AHGP)
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Online Probate Records
- 1750 - 1988 Missouri Probate Records 1750-1998 at FamilySearch — images
- 1766 - 1988 Missouri Wills and Probate Records 1766-1988 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Iron County, Missouri Schools (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
- 1802 - 1969 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1802-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1883 Iron County Birth Index 1883. Batch C515202 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1884 - 1887 Iron County Births and Stillbirths 1884-1887
- Missouri State Archives: Missouri Birth & Death Records Database, Pre-1910 (includes Iron County data)
- 1750 - 1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1800 - 1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1805 - 2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at Ancestry.com $
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1857 - 1881 Iron County Marriages 1857-1881 (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- 1857 - 1885 Iron County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1857-1885. Batch M515201 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1857 - 1998 Iron County Marriages 1857-1998 (Tom Caulley's Iron Co., MO Gen. Page)
- Brian Oster Missouri Marriage Records site
- 1867 - 1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1834 - 1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- Iron County, Missouri Deaths (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Links to Iron County Births, Deaths, and Obituaries (Tom Caulley's Iron Co., MO Gen. Page)
- Missouri State Archives: Missouri Death Certificates (includes direct access to Iron County death certificates in pdf form)
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- List of Missouri Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- Iron County Historical Society
- Iron County, Missouri Genealogy Society
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
| Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates.
Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
|Missouri Digital Heritage||Free||digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State|
|MOGenWeb||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|USGenWeb Archives||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|RootsWeb resources||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|Linkpendium||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|CyndisList||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|StateofUS||Free||family history resources and government records|
|Missouri Genealogy||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch catalog||Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Iron Missouri" and search catalog.|
|Missouri State Archives Library||catalog; from this page you must search "Iron County"|
|Google+||Missouri Genealogy Network Community|
|list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search|
|Ancestry.com||Iron County Message Board|
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iron County, Missouri. Page 401 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)