Iowa Genealogical Society
Welcome to the Iowa Genealogical Society
Center Info and Hours[edit | edit source]
Address: 628 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, Iowa 50309-1924
Fax Phone: 515-727-1824
- Monday: 10:00am-4:00pm
- Tuesday: 10:00am-9:00pm
- Wednesday: 10:00am-4:00pm
- Thursday: 10:00am-9:00pm
- Friday: 10:00am-4:00pm
- Saturday: 10:00am-4:00pm
Membership[edit | edit source]
Please add $2.50 for handling fee if mailing application.
IGS is supported solely by memberships and donations. By becoming a member, you will receive:
- Help, support and friendship of like-minded folk
- Discounts on educational opportunities, classes and conferences and on research fees
- Access to Members Only classes
- Networking opportunities (which means you get answers)
- Email notification of upcoming events and classes
- Access to genealogical interest groups
- Help tearing down “brick walls”
- Opportunity to participate in special projects
- Free access to the IGS Library
online membership order: Membership
Personalize Name Tag[edit | edit source]
Genealogical Name Tag with your name, your parents and your grandparents names. Black letters on a white plastic badge (2 1/8 x 3 3/8) with a pin clasp on the back. Font size appropriate for space on badge. Includes shipping to USA and its territories. Enter your name, father and mother names, grandparent names. Max 22 characters per box. Phone number required if IGS has questions about order. Allow 4 weeks for delivery.
Order your special name tag to use in your calling. Great talking item. order Name Tag
Sample Name Tag: Nametag
Name Tag Order form: Can use a credit card (Mastercard, Visa, Discover) or Paypal to accompany order.
Certificates[edit | edit source]
The purpose of the Certificate Program is to recognize families with Iowa roots, encourage people to undertake genealogical research, and to provide genealogical resources for researchers in our library.
For people who are directly descended from Iowa Pioneers applicants must provide direct descent and prove that the ancestor settled in Iowa:
By 1846, to receive a Statehood Certificate.
By 1856, to receive a Pioneer Certificate.
More than 100 years prior to the date of application, for a Century Certificate.
Certificate Order forms: Can use a credit card (Mastercard, Visa, Discover) or Paypal to accompany order.
Collection[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog: This facility may have various films available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
- Film Collection: United States Federal Censuses, State Censuses
- Microfiche Collection: -- microfiche holding
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
Hardware and Equipment:
- 11 computers (internet access), 2 printers, 13 overhead microfilm readers, 2 microfiche readers and 2 microfiche reader/microfilm scanners.
About Us[edit | edit source]
The Iowa Genealogical Society’s mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history.
The purpose of the Iowa Genealogical Society is to meet the educational needs of its members and the general public through the acquisition, preservation and dissemination of genealogical, historical and cultural information.
The Iowa Genealogical Society library is available to the public. The extensive collection of books, microforms, and periodicals in addition to Iowa materials includes materials for many other states. The traditional resources within the library include our 20,000 volumes and 15,000 microforms covering the United States as well as many other countries. These vital records, histories, federal and state census records, military records, and other information combined with our extensive family history collection provide you, the researcher, with an abundance of sources—many are one of a kind. IGS is also an FamilySearch Affiliated Library and provides volunteer library assistance. Ancestry.com Library Edition is available for patrons.
IGS offers many classes and several conferences throughout the year. Research assistance is available for a small fee. Don’t miss the opportunity to attend the IGS 2017 Spring Conference featuring J. H. Fonkert. The conference will be Saturday, April 8, 2017. Seating is limited. Go to IGS for more information.
IGS is located at 628 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, Iowa 50309-1924 in the historic East Village section of the downtown area. We are two blocks west of the State Capitol Building and directly across the street from the Iowa State Archives. The Library can be reached by taking Interstate 235 and exiting on NE 14th St. traveling south to Grand Ave. and turning west for 8 blocks. or taking Interstate 235 and exiting on E 6th St. traveling south to Grand Ave. and turning east for 1 block. Free parking is available in front of the library & is fully handicapped accessible. A state parking garage is located adjacent to our building. There is metered parking on the street in front of the facility.