Iowa Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Iowa Wiki Topics
Iowa flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Iowa Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

RegistrationOpen.png

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Before becoming a state in 1846, Iowa was part of the Wisconsin and Iowa Territory. It will not be included in the early censuses.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1830 1840 1850 1860 1870 1880 1890
Iowa not enumerated. FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1900 1910 1920 1930 1940 1950 1960
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
Release Date and Research Help Release Date
April 1, 2032

Non-Population Schedules for Iowa[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1840 Veteran Pensioners FamilySearch Books, United States Census Bureau,
1850 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry
1850 Agriculture Ancestry ($), FamilySearch - browsable images
1850 Industry Ancestry ($), FamilySearch - browsable images
1860 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry
1860 Agriculture Ancestry ($), FamilySearch - browsable images
1860 Industry Ancestry ($), FamilySearch - browsable images
1870 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry
1870 Agriculture Ancestry ($), FamilySearch - browsable images
1870 Industry Ancestry ($), FamilySearch - browsable images
1880 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry
1880 Agriculture Ancestry ($), FamilySearch - browsable images
1880 Industry Ancestry ($), FamilySearch.org - browsable images
1880 Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes Ancestry ($)

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten-year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1925 State, all household members at FamilySearch.org

at Ancestry ($)

1915 State, all household members at FamilySearch.org

at Ancestry ($)

1905 State, all household members at FamilySearch.org

at Ancestry ($)

at MyHeritage ($)

1895 State, all household members at FamilySearch.org

at Ancestry ($)

1885 State, all household members at FamilySearch.org

Ancestry

1856 State, all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry ($)

1854 State, all household members at Ancestry ($)
1852 State at Ancestry ($)
1851 State (limited counties) at Ancestry ($)
1849 State (limited counties) at Ancestry ($)
1847 State (limited counties), head of household at Ancestry ($)
1846 State (limited counties), head of household at Ancestry ($)
1844 Territorial (Keokuk), all household members at Ancestry ($)
1838 Territorial (limited counties) at Ancestry ($)
1836 Territorial (Dubuque and Des Moines Counties), head of household at Ancestry ($)

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service