Inglesham, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Inglesham, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Farringdon; Highworth, Cricklade and Staple|
|Poor Law Union||Highworth and Swindon|
|Parish registers: 1589|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
Inglesham was partly in Berkshire and partly in Wiltshire.
INGLESHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Highworth and Swindon, hundred of Highworth, Cricklade, and Staple, Cricklade and N. divisions of Wilts, 2 miles (S.) from Lechlade. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Inglesham, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Inglesham, Wiltshire Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Inglesham in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 611-614. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.