Ingleby Greenhow, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Ingleby Greenhow, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ingleby Greenhow, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Stokesley|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1631|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
INGLEBY-GREENHOW (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Stokesley, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 4½ miles (E. S. E.) from Stokesley. This place, at the time of the Conqueror's survey, was within the soke or liberty of Stokesley. It is bounded on the south by a range of naked mountains, and comprises, with the townships of Greenhow and Battersby. The church was rebuilt in 1741.
= Resources =[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Ingleby Greenhow exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org - free|
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|INGLEBY GREENHOW PARISH (1539) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References [edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., The Topographical Dictionary of England. (1848). Date accessed: 15 January 2013.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 13 October 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.