Indonesia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Indonesia)
Jump to: navigation, search
Indonesia Wiki Topics
Flag of Indonesia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Indonesia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Asia
Indonesia


Geographylogo.png In other languages: Bahasa Indonesia | English


Guide to Indonesia, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Indonesia is the world’s 4th most populous country with over 264 million people, as well as the most populous Muslim-majority country. All Muslim countries combined are still smaller than the Muslim population in Indonesia. With more than seventeen thousand islands, Indonesia is also the world’s largest archipelagic country. Java, the world’s most populous Island contains over 60% of the country’s population. There 737 languages spoken in Indonesia, with Bahasa Indonesia as the national language and Javanese as the most spoken traditional language.

Indonesia is a very multi-cultural country. There were multiple foreign countries fighting to draw natural resources in Indonesia, at least since the 7th century. Local rulers gradually absorbed foreign cultural, religious, and political models from these countries, and Hindu and Buddhist kingdoms developed. Islam was brought by the Muslim traders and Sufi scholars, while European brought Christianity during the Age of Discovery. Indonesia experienced the Dutch colonialism for a long period of time. During World War II, Japan interrupted the colonialism by the Dutch and occupied Indonesia for a little over three years. In August 17, 1945 Indonesia declared their independence, but achieved its full independent in 1949 after an armed and diplomatic conflict with the Netherlands.

Even after being independent, the influence of the Dutch is still affecting the country. Due to very minimal education system in Indonesia, illiteracy was quite common among the society. Only Dutch companies’ employees’ family can get a decent education, and the rest of the people only received very basic education, which will give benefits to the Dutch. For this reason, many native Indonesians did not have any understandings about keeping family records. 

Getting Started

Getting Started with Indonesia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Indonesia research.

Indonesia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Indonesia research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Indonesia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Indonesia.

Aceh
North
Sumatra
West
Sumatra
Riau
Riau
Islands
Bangka–
Belitung
Jambi
South
Sumatra
Bengkulu
Lampung
Banten
Jakarta
West
Java
Central
Java
Yogyakarta
East
Java
Bali
West Nusa
Tenggara
East Nusa
Tenggara
West
Kalimantan
Central
Kalimantan
North
Kalimantan
East
Kalimantan
South
Kalimantan
North
Sulawesi
North
Maluku
Central
Sulawesi
Gorontalo
West
Sulawesi
South
Sulawesi
Southeast
Sulawesi
Maluku
West
Papua
Papua

Provinces

Indonesian provinces and their capitals, listed by region

Indonesian name is in parentheses if different from English. An asterisk (*) in the list below indicates a locality with special status (Daerah Istimewa or Daerah Khusus Ibukota).

Sumatra

Java

Lesser Sunda Islands

Kalimantan

Sulawesi

Maluku Islands

Western New Guinea

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.