Indiana Marriage Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Flag of Indiana|
|Location of Indiana|
|Record Type||Marriage Index|
|Indiana Commission on Public Records|
- 1 What is in This Collection?
- 2 What Can These Records Tell Me?
- 3 Collection Content
- 4 How Do I Search This Collection?
- 5 What Do I Do Next?
- 6 Citing This Collection
- 7 How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
This collection was indexed in partnership with the Indiana Genealogical Society. It consists of a name index and images of marriages recorded in the Indiana Territory and in the state of Indiana between 1811 and 2007. This is an ongoing project, so additional records will be added as indexing is completed. New images are being added as they become available. Early county marriage records were handwritten into bound books with multiple entries to a page. Pre-printed register books began to be used about 1850. By 1905, the printed format included only one entry on each page.
Clerks of the Circuit Court recorded marriages performed by religious or civil authorities. Records consisted of licenses, marriage returns and marriage entries. The state of Indiana began collecting marriages from the counties in 1958.
The images in this collection contain a watermark that reads, "Unofficial Record". This is to identify the records are for personal genealogical use only and are not valid as any form of official identification.
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images.
For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
To Browse This Collection[edit | edit source]
|You can browse through images in this collection using the waypoints on the Collection Browse Page for Indiana, Marriages, 1811-2007.|
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
The following information may be found in these records:
Prior to 1882
1882 to 1905
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
Sample Images[edit | edit source]
Coverage Table[edit | edit source]
The following table shows the number of records in this collection by county. Because of privacy laws not all records may be available.
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:
- The name of the individual
- The date of the event or the name of a parent or spouse
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name on the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
View the Images[edit | edit source]
View images in this collection by visiting the Browse Page:
- Select the County of Event - License or Marriage
- Select the Volume and Year Range to view the images
|More images are available in the FamilySearch Catalog Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007. Some catalog records link to multiple references. In this case, click on a reference to find a camera icon to see images.|
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Add any new information to your records
- Use the age or estimated birth date to find other vital records such as birth, baptism, and death
- Use the information found in the record to find additional family members in census records
- Witnesses to marriages were usually family members
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname. This list can help you find possible relatives
- If you cannot locate your ancestor in the locality in which you believe they lived, then try searching records of a nearby town or county
- Try different spellings of your ancestor’s name
- Remember that sometimes individuals went by nicknames or alternated between using first and middle names
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you in your research for your family in the state of Indiana.
- Indiana Guided Research
- Indiana Record Finder
- Research Tips and Strategies
- Step-by-Step Research: 1850-1900 | 1900-Present
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen.
How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?[edit | edit source]
|We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Historical Records/Guidelines for Articles.|
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.