Independence County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Independence County
 

Guide to Independence County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Batesville
Organized: October 23, 1820
Parent County(s): Lawrence and Arkansas[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cleburne  • Izard  • Jackson  • Lawrence  • Sharp  • Stone  • White
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasIndependenceCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-independence.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named in commemoration of the Declaration of Independence. The County Seat is Batesville and was founded October 20, 1820.[2] It is located in the north of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Independence County Courthouse
192 East Main Street
Batesville, AR 725091
Phone: 870.793.8828
Independence County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1826 and probate records from 1839;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records;
County Library has burial records.[4]

Independence County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1826 1914* 1821 1820 1839 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1820--Independence County was created 23 October 1820 from Lawrence and Arkansas Counties.
  • County seat: Batesville[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Ashley
  • Barren
  • Big Bottom-Wycough-Logan Township
  • Black River-Marshell
  • Cushman-Union
  • Departee
  • Dota
  • Fairview
  • Gainsboro
  • Greenbrier
  • Hill
  • Huff
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • McHue
  • Magness
  • Moorefield
  • Oil Trough
  • Relief
  • Rosie
  • Ruddell
  • Salado
  • Washington
  • White River


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Independence County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1700s - When European observers returned to the area, the White River valley was no longer inhabited.
  • 1815 - Missouri Territory established Lawrence County, a huge area that encompassed most of what became north Arkansas.
  • 1820 October 20 - Independence County established.
  • 1828 - Independence County became an international border zone. The Cherokee traded the land back to the United States and moved west.
  • 1800s (late) - The county moved into the modern era with an economy based on agriculture, timber, and timber products

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Independence, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 2,031
1840 3,669 80.6%
1850 7,767 111.7%
1860 14,307 84.2%
1870 14,566 1.8%
1880 18,086 24.2%
1890 21,961 21.4%
1900 22,557 2.7%
1910 24,776 9.8%
1920 23,976 −3.2%
1930 24,225 1.0%
1940 25,643 5.9%
1950 23,488 −8.4%
1960 20,048 −14.6%
1970 22,723 13.3%
1980 30,147 32.7%
1990 31,192 3.5%
2000 34,233 9.7%
2010 36,647 7.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1830-1923 Independence County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1853-1902; County Court records 1830-1849; Guardian bonds and letters 1868-1895; Letters of administration 1846-1881; Probate records 1839-1881; Wills 1833-1923.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Independence County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Neill, Robert. "Reminiscences of Independence County". Publications of the Arkansas Historical Association - v. 3 (1911).
  • Mosier, Susan. Hutchinson Mountain Vol. 2. Floral, Arkansas : S. Mosier, 1997.
  • Mosier, Susan. Hutchinson Mountain Vol. 1. Floral, Arkansas : S. Mosier, 1997.

Maps and Gazetteers

Izard CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyStone CountyCleburne CountyWhite CountyJackson CountyAR INDEPENDENCE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Independence County on page 91.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Independence County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company C
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 38th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[9], Companies A, C, K, and M
- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Independence County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Independence County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/independence/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Independence County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Independence_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Independence County, Arkansas. Page 68 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Independence County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Independence_County,_Arkansas, accessed 17 September 2018.
  8. George E Lankford, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=776&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Independence County.”
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  10. Desmond Walls Allen, Fourth Arkansas Union Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M28dae
  11. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  12. Ronald R. Bass, History of the Thirty-first Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1996), p. 12 FHL book 976.7 M2ba
  13. Desmond Walls Allen, Thirty-eighth Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2at
  14. Desmond Walls Allen, Forty-fifth Arkansas Confederate Calvary, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2af
  15. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  16. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  17. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.