Ince, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Ince, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ince St James contributor John Lord
|County||Cheshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Great Boughton|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1687|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
INCE (St. James), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, the second division of the hundred of Eddisbury, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 8 miles NNE from Chester.
Ince St James the Great is an Ancient parish in Cheshire. A Norman chapel once stood on this site. The present church was built in the medieval period but only the tower and part of the chancel remain from this date.
Ince was formerly a township and parish in Eddisbury Hundred and became part of Ellesmere Port civil parish in 1950. Ince is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ince St James the Great parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Ince St James the Great Parish (1600) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City. Parish registers for Ince, 1687-1933 Cheshire Record Office reference: P89/1/1-2, P89/2, P89/3/1-2, P89/4-5, 7-9.
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records
|Parish registers Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, burials, 1687-1790. Marriages, 1687-1810, 1813-1837. Baptisms, 1813-1870. Marriage banns, 1754-1810, 1824-1933.||BRITISH 2105710 Items 13 - 18|
|Burials, 1813-1912. Marriage licences, 1846-1876, 1924. Certificates of registry of death, 1840-1852, 1912. Coroner's orders for burial, 1846-1857.||BRITISH 2105799 Items 1 - 4|
Bishop's transcripts for Ince, 1600-1898 Early years in Latin.Cheshire Record Office reference
|Bishop's transcripts Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1602, 1607-1608, 1610, 1613-1615, 1617-1618, 1622-1625, 1629-1633, 1635, 1637, 1640-1641, 1662-1663, 1666, 1668-1677, 1679-1685, 1688-1691, 1694-1707, 1709-1735, 1737-1742, 1744-1799, 1802-1803, 1806-1814, baptisms, burials, 1815-1817.||BRITISH 1655830 Item 3|
|Marriages, 1818-1819, 1823-1824, 1826-1827, 1829-1837, 1839-1846, 1850-1853, 1855. Baptisms, burials, 1818-1885, 1892-1898.||BRITISH 1655831 Item 1|
An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1671-1900 England, Cheshire Non-conformist Records, 1671-1900 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1937)
- West Cheshire (1937–50)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–71)Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire Genealogy
- Chester Poor Law Union, Cheshire Genealogy (1871–1930)
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Ince on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 8 March 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 190–194
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 42–43, ISBN 1871731232
Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 143, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 248, ISBN 0 300 09588 0