To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Imperial County, California Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Imperial County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
{{{link}}}

Imperial County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Imperial County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 17, 1907
County Seat El Centro
Courthouse
CaliforniaImperialCourthouse.jpg
Address Imperial County Courthouse
940 W Main St;
El Centro, CA 92243
Phone 760.482.4220

Imperial County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Imperial County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1907 1907 1907 1907 1851 1907 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1905. General compliance by 1920.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907
County Recorder has birth, marriage and death records from 1907 [2]

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

6 August 1907: Imperial County was created from San Diego County. County seat: El Centro [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named from Imperial Valley. The Imperial Valley got it's name from the Imperial Land Company, a subsidiary of the California Development Company, which at the turn of the 20th century had reclaimed the southern portion of the Colorado desert for agriculture. The County Seat is El Centro and was founded 1907.[4] It is located in the Southeast area of the state.[5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Imperial, California online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See California Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Imperial County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Riverside CountySan Diego CountyLa Paz CountyYuma CountyBaja CaliforniaCA IMPERIAL.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

World War II[edit | edit source]
Korean War[edit | edit source]
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Pioneers Museum and Cultural Center of the Imperial Valley
373 East Aten Road
Imperial, Ca. 92251
website


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Imperial County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America</i>, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Imperial County, California. Page 84.
  3. [The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America],10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Imperial County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/imperial/#.WQm_lTEzqM8 5/03/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Imperial County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperial_County,_California 5/03/2017.