Ilkeston, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Ilkeston, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
ILKESTON (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Basford, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 8½ miles (W. by N.) from Nottingham; and 128 (N. W. by N.) from London. This place, was anciently called Elchestane. The Erewash divides the parish from the county of Nottingham. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Ilkeston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Ilkeston St Mary (1558) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ilkeston
Non Conformist Churches
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- General Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist ReformChurch
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Ilkeston on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 603-608. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.