To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Iguazú, Misiones, Argentina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Department of Iguazú ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History[edit | edit source]

  • In 1881 the province of Corrientes, which at that time had been annexed to Misiones, extends to 50 square leagues where today Iguazú sits.
  • In 1882 the provincial territory was divided into five departments, the northernmost of them named Iguazú.
  • In 1928 the nation bought Arrayagaray land destined to be a National Park and a military zone; the Iguazú National Park was created and finally the urban area of Puerto Aguirre and the Park itself were delimited.
  • In 1943 the place regained its original name. However, it was stripped in 1951 to rename it as Eva Perón. Finally the military government that overthrew Juan Domingo Perón restored the name that lasts until today.
  • The department of Iguazú has a population of approximately 82,000 people. [1]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for the department of Iguazú.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for the department of Iguazú.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • Cementerio El Salvador
  • Cementerio Municipal de Puerto Iguazu
  • Cementerio El Susto
  • Cementerio de Puerto Esperanza
  • Dirección: Ruta 227, Puerto Esperanza
  • Cementerio General Puerto La Libertad

Municipalities[edit | edit source]

  • Puerto Esperanza
  • Puerto Iguazú
  • Puerto Libertad
  • Wanda

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento Iguazú," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_Iguaz%C3%BA. Visited December 6, 2017.