Iceland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Iceland Research Topics
Flag of Iceland.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Iceland Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Iceland is Baird
Europe
Iceland

Guide to Iceland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Iceland is an island between the North Atlantic and Arctic oceans settled by Vikings in 874. It was governed by Denmark from 1381 to 1944, when it gained full independence as a Republic. The official language is Icelandic.[1][2]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Iceland Research

Links to articles on getting started with Iceland research.

See More Research Strategies

Iceland Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Iceland research.

See More Research Tools


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Iceland

  • Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town were your ancestors lived.
  • If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Iceland Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.


Iceland Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Iceland.
Iceland counties.png

Counties

  • Austur-Barðastrandar
  • Austur-Húnavatns
  • Austur-Skaftafells
  • Borgarfjarðar
  • Dala
  • Eyjafjarðar
  • Eyjfjr
  • Gullbringu
  • Gllbrn
  • Hnappadals
  • Kjósar
  • Mýra
  • Norður-Ísafjarðar
  • Norður-Múla
  • Norður-Þingeyjar
  • Rangárvalla
  • Skagafjarðar
  • Snæfellsnes
  • Stranda
  • Suður-Múla
  • Suður-Þingeyjar
  • Vestmannaeyjar
  • Vstmnn
  • Vestur-Barðastranda
  • Vestur-Húnavatns
  • Vestur-Skaftafells
  • Vestur-Ísafjarðar
  • Árnes

More Iceland Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Iceland.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.



References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Iceland,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1988-1997.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Iceland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iceland, accessed 24 March 2016.