To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Iceland Compiled Genealogies

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Iceland Research Topics
Flag of Iceland.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Iceland Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Iceland is Baird


Extracted Records[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch has organized volunteers to extract genealogical data from parish registers and compiled genealogies. These records can be searched at FamilySearch Family Trees. Enter the name of the individual you are searching for. Select Community Trees in the drop-down list at the bottom of the page. Then press the Search button.

Special Genealogical Collections (Ættatølurbækur)[edit | edit source]

These records give linkage and genealogical information. These include collections compiled by Jon Espolin, Steingrimur Jonsson, Olafur Snoksdalin, and Einar Jonsson; as well as pedigrees and genealogies of Skagafjarðar County. The materials held by the FamilyHistory Library cover the time period from 874 to the 1930s.

They generally contain the names of persons, their dates and places of birth and death, parentage, names of spouse and children, residence, occupations; general biographical information; pedigrees listing several generations of ancestry with dates of birth, marriage, and death.

The National Archives in Reykjavik holds a considerable number of these records.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Iceland Contains genealogical information about the inhabitants of Iceland, dating back more than 1,200 years

References[edit | edit source]