To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hyson Green, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hyson Green, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Hyson Green, Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Radford
Registration District Radford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HYSON-GREEN, a suburb, a chapelry, and a subdistrict, in the district and county of Nottingham. The suburb lies on the Nottingham and Mansfield railway, about 1 mile NW of Nottingham; and has a post office under Nottingham.—The chapelry comprises portions of Radford and Lenton parishes, and was constituted in 1844. There are chapels for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

St Stephen Hyson Green is a parish in Nottingham and can be known as Nottingham St Stephen in some record sources. The present church dates from 1897 and was successor to the lost Victorian church of St Stephen Bunker Hill.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the church history Nottingham Hyson Green St Stephen with St Paul

The current church of St Stephen has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also St Stephen Hyson Green Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hyson Green parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Nottinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Nottinghamshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hyson Green Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1917
1528-1929
1539-1917
ANC 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN

1538-1905


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Radford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk