Hyde, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Hyde, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Type||Ecclesiastical Parish (England)|
|County||Cheshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Stockport|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1851|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HYDE, is a town, and a township, in the parish and union of Stockport, hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, 7½ miles ESE from Manchester. The River Tame separates Hyde from Haughton, in Lancashire. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hyde St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Hyde St Thomas Parish (1847) Online Records|
Stockport St Mary, Cheshire Genealogy. The ancient parish church for Hyde. Hyde St George, Cheshire Genealogy. Church Street/Great Norbury Street. Built in 1832 as a chapel to Stockport St Mary, becoming the parish church for part of Hyde in 1842. Registers of Baptisms 1832–1971, Marriages 1839–1983 and Burials 1832–1973 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. See Hyde St George Hyde, St. Thomas (C of E). Lumm Road. Founded 1846 as the parish church for part of Hyde. Registers of Baptisms 1847–1924, Marriages 1869–1919 and Burials 1869–1900 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Gee Cross, Holy Trinity (C of E). Higham Lane. Built in 1874 as a chapel to St George, becoming the parish church for parts of Hyde and Werneth in 1880. Registers of Baptisms from 1874, Marriages from 1875 and Burials from 1874 are held at the church. Bishop's Transcripts 1891–1902 are held at the Cheshire Record Office.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1600s-1910 Cheshire Non-Conformist & Roman Catholic Registers (Baptism) 17th Century-1910 at FindMyPast ($); index and images (dates may vary by parish)
- 1600s-1910 Cheshire Non-Conformist & Roman Catholic Registers (Burials) 17th Century-1910 at FindMyPast ($); index and images (dates may vary by parish)
Hyde, St. Paul (Roman Catholic), Newton Moor. Founded 1848, the present church was Built in 1854. Registers of baptisms 1856–1957, marriages 1856–1955 and burials 1857–1942 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Hyde, Friends' Meeting House (Quaker), Chapel Street. Built in 1873. Hyde, Baptist Union Chapel, Chapel Street/Union Street. Built in 1869. Hyde, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Reginald Street. Hyde, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Hoviley Brow. Built in 1813. Registers of baptisms 1848–1934 and marriages 1909–1953 are at Manchester Central Library. Hyde, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), New Street. Founded 1823. Registers 1820–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Hyde, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Norfolk Street. Built in 1850. Hyde, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion), George Street. Built in 1858. Gee Cross, Methodist Chapel, Joel Lane (Primitive). Registers of marriages 1910–1969 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Hyde, Spiritualist Church, George Street. Gee Cross, Unitarian Chapel. Founded 1708, Built in 1846. Hyde, Unitarian Chapel. Built in 1878. Later nondenominational. Hyde, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Union Street. Founded 1814, built in 1822, rebuilt in 1843. Registers 1822–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Hyde, United Reformed (Zion) Church (Independent/Congregational), Stockport Road. Built in 1847.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Stockport (1837-1937)
- Hyde (1937-74)
- Tameside (1974+)
Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
Hyde on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England fckLR(1848). Date Accessed: 8 March 2013
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.