Husthwaite, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Husthwaite, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Easingwold|
|Parish registers: 1636|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Husthwaite|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Husthwaite St Nicholas is an Ancient parish and had the chapelry of St Mary Carlton Husthwaite, Yorkshire within the parish until St mary became a separate parish.
HUSTHWAITE, a parish, in the union of Easingwould, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York; 4 miles (N. by W.) from Easingwould. At Carlton is a chapel of ease. HUSTHWAITE, a village, a township, and a parish in Easingwold district, N. R. Yorkshire. The village stands on a rising ground, near the Thirsk and Driffield railway, 4 miles N by W of Easingwold; and has a station, of the name of Husthwaite-Gate, on the railway, and a post office under Easingwold. There is a Wesleyan chapel. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Husthwaite exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|HUSTHWAITE PARISH (1703) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Husthwaite to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HUSTHWAITE PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel a., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 591-594. Date accessed: 26 October 2013.
- John Marius Wilson; Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed: 26 October 2013.
- http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.