To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hurworth, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hurworth, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hurworth, Durham
All Saints Hurworth on Tees Durham.jpg
All Saints Hurworth on Tees Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HURWORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Darlington, S. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham;There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information: Hurworth on Tees is an ancient parish on the River Tees with nearby Neasham. All Saints church was restored in 1871 to retain many of the Norman features.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1559-1986 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Hur)

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/146/2 1787-1885 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The current mis-spelling of the parish is awaiting re-engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.  

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hurworth on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.