To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hurst Green, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hurst Green, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hurst Green, Lancashire
St John the Evangelist Hurst Green Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn; Staincliff and Ewcross
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe
Registration District Clitheroe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1871
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Chapelry History[edit | edit source]

HURST-GREEN (St John the Evangelist), a village in the Ribble Valley district of Lancashire and a chapelry in Mitton parish, Lancashire. 3 miles northwest of Langho, and 6½ north of Blackburn. It was created in 1839. This chapelry commenced by the year 1843. The modern parish is in the Diocese of Bradford.[1]

With the founding of Stonyhurst Hall, by Richard Shireburn in 1592, the hamlet of Hurst Green (about a mile away) began to develop, as often happens with the building of Manor Houses. The hamlet’s development continued, once the College was founded in 1794 and today is a popular tourist destination. It remains a small rural village.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Records[edit | edit source]


Church of England

Hurst Green chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Mitton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


HURST GREEN ST JOHN Chapelry  (1871) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1871-2004 None
MITTON ALL HALLOWS PARISH (1610) Indexes (ancient parish containing HURST GREEN Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1610-1812 1620-1841 1609-1678
LOPC 1632-1812 1632-1841 1632-1812
LBMD None 1838-1997 None 


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Hurst Green and comprising the whole ancient parish of Mitton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MITTON PARISH page.


Census records[edit | edit source]

v

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]