Hungary Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hungary)
Jump to: navigation, search
Hungary Research Topics
Flag of Hungary.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Hungary Background
Local Research Resources
Europe
Hungary
Guide to Hungary ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Hungary is a country in Central Europe bordered by Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, and Slovenia. From the eighteenth century to World War I it belonged to the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The official language is Hungarian.[1] The lands of Hungary contributed great numbers of people to the waves of European Emigration from the mid 1800s to the early 1900s. These were not just Hungarians, but also Romanians, Germans, Jews, Slovaks, Ukrainians, Serbs, and Croats. Many settled in the United States, Canada, and Australia where, generations later, their descendants now begin the task of seeking their Hungarian heritage.

Getting Started with Hungary Research

Links to articles on getting started with Hungary research.

Hungary Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Hungary research.



{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Hungary

  • Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
  • If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Hungary Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.


Hungary Clickable Map

Borsod-Abaúj-ZemplénSzabolcs-Szatmár-BeregHajdú-BiharNógrádHevesPestJász-Nagykun-SzolnokBékésKomárom-Esztergom[FejérGyőr-Moson-SopronVeszprémVasZalaSomogyBaranyaTolnaBács-KiskunCsongrádMap of counties of Hungary 2004.png
About this image

Counties

As of 1950, Hungary contains the following counties:

Historic Counties of Hungary

After 1876 (or 1881 for Abaúj-Torna and Krassó-Szörény), the Kingdom of Hungary contained the following 63 counties:

Abaúj-Torna Beszterce-Naszód Fogaras Kis-Küküllő Nógrád Szeben Turóc
Alsó-Fehér Bihar Győr Kolozs Nyitra Szepes Udvarhely
Arad Borsod Gömör és Kis-Hont Komárom Pest-Pilis-Solt-Kiskun Szilágy Ugocsa
Árva Brassó Hajdú Krassó-Szörény Pozsony Szolnok-Doboka Ung
Bács-Bodrog Csanád Háromszék Liptó Sáros Temes Vas
Baranya Csík Heves Máramaros Somogy Tolna Veszprém
Bars Csongrád Hont Maros-Torda Sopron Torda-Aranyos Zala
Békés Esztergom Hunyad Moson Szabolcs Torontál Zemplén
Bereg Fejér Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok Nagy-Küküllő Szatmár Trencsén Zólyom
  • Abaúj-Torna --now split between Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén County, Hungary, and Košice Region, Slovakia.
  • Arad--In 1920, Most went to Romania—small southern part wen to Békés.
  • Bács-Bodrog--In 1918, Northern 15% went to Bács-Kiskun, 85% went to Yugoslavia
  • Bars--Became Tekov County, Slovakia
  • Bihar--now mostly in northwestern Romania (as Bihor County), and a smaller part in Hajdú-Bihar County, eastern Hungary.
  • Borsod--merged into Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén.
  • Csanád--divided between Békés, Csongrád, and Romania (county of Arad, Romania).
  • Pest-Pilis-Solt-Kis-Kun--The present county of Pest was formed after World War II, when the former county Pest-Pilis-Solt-Kiskun was split in two parts (the other part is within present-day Bács-Kiskun).

FamilySearch Resources

Hungarian Parliament.jpg

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Hungary," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hungary, accessed 23 March 2016.