Hungarton with Twyford and Thorpe Satchville, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Hungarton with Twyford and Thorpe Satchville, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hungarton with Twyford and Thorpe Satchville, Leicestershire|
St John the Baptist Hungarton, Leicestershire
|Hundred||East Goscote; Gartree|
|Poor Law Union||Billesdon Melton Mowbray|
|Registration District||Billesdon; Melton Mowbray|
|Parish registers: 1614; Separate registers exist for Twyford beginning 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1579; Separate records exist for Twyford beginning 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HUNGERTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish,in the union of Billesdon, chiefly in the hundred of Gartree, S. division, but partly in that of East Goscote, N. division, of the county of Leicester. The living is a discharged vicarage, with that of Twyford and the chapelry of Thorp-Satchville united in 1732. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Hungerton like this:
HUNGERTON, a village, a township, and a parish in Billesdon district, Leicestershire. The village stands between the two branches of the river Wreak, 6 miles SE by E of Syston Junction r. station, and 7 NE by E of Leicester. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hungarton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Hungarton Parish Online Records|
Twyford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Twyford Parish Online Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester:Hungarton Bap 1614 - 1981 Marr 1614 – 2006 (Banns to 1985) Bur 1614 - 1982
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.