Humshaugh, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Humshaugh, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Humshaugh, Northumberland | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Tindale |
| County | Northumberland |
| Poor Law Union | Hexham |
| Registration District | Hexham |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1818 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1818 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Bellingham |
| Diocese | Durham |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Northumberland Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History
HUMSHAUGH, a chapelry, in the parish of Simonburn, union of Hexham, N. W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 5 miles (N. by W.) from Hexham; The chapel (a neat cruciform structure) and the parsonage-house were erected, and a cemetery formed, in 1818. St Peter Humshaugh was created in 1832 from a chapelry in the ancient parish of Simonburn.[1]
Resources
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/144 Date: 1819-1846
Related material at DULASC: Humshaugh transcript 1818 is included with Simonburn transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/231 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Humshaugh, St Peter: Records of baptisms 1818-1901, marriages 1862-1979 and burials 1819-1917 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period 1818-1846 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) does not include this parish. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Humshaugh (microfiche TN73) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records
Census Records
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland
Probate Records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
