Hull St Mary, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hull St Mary, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Complete List of Kingston-upon-Hull Parishes and Chapels

Hull St Mary, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry (England)
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston-upon-Hull
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Hull Incorporation
Registration District Hull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564; For more records see North Ferriby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HULL, or Kingston-upon-Hull, a sea-port, borough, and county of itself, situated on the borders of the East Riding of York, 39 miles SE from York, and 170 N from London; comprising the parishes of St. Mary, the Holy Trinity, Drypool, and Sculcoates, the extra-parochial district of Garrison-Side, and part of the parish of Sutton. The ancient borough comprises the parishes of Holy Trinity and St. Mary, of which the greater part was demolished in the reign of Henry VIII, consists principally of the chancel of the original structure, which was enlarged in 1570, and to which a steeple was added in 1696; it contains some good windows in the later English style.[1]

This chapel was originally built as a chapel of ease to North Ferriby but was created as a parish by the year 1447. Parish registers begin in 1564.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Hull St Mary Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-East Riding
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-East Riding ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-East Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600-1800s
-
Find My Past Banns-East Riding ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
-
-
Find My Past Marriage Licences-East Riding ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds-East Riding ($)
-
-
Archdeaconry of Richmond, England, Church of England Marriage Bonds, 1611-1861 1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1700s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 574-580. Adapted. Accessed October 31, 2013.