Hulcote with Salford, Bedfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Hulcote with Salford, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hulcote with Salford, Bedfordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Woburn|
|Parish registers: 1658; Separate registers exist for Salford beginning 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604; Separate records exist for Salford beginning 1602|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford|
|Location of Archive|
|Bedfordshire Record Office|
HULCOTE, HOLCOTT or HOLCUTTE, is a parish in Woburn district, Bedfordshire; it is on Crawley brook, near the boundary with Buckinghamshire and is united with the vicarage of Salford. It is 2 miles NW of Ridgmount railway station, and 4 miles N of Woburn. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hulcote with Salford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hulcote with Salford Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Hulcote with Salford on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 4 Dec 2013.