To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Huehuetenango, Huehuetenango, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Municipality of Huehuetenango ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History[edit | edit source]

  • In colonial times the convent and doctrine of "Concepción de Güegüetenango" had charge of the Mercedarian friars, and it became one of the eleven curatos of the province and mayor of Totonicapam.
  • As the political center of the state of Guatemala, Huehuetenango was established as the seat of the circuit of the same name in the district of Totonicapán.
  • The municipality of Huehuetenango has a population of approximately 109,000 people[1]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Catalog English.jpg

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • Cementerio General Huehuetenango
    Dirección: 6 Calle Y 10 Avenida Zona
  • Nuevo Cementerio Chiloja Canxac y Jumaj
  • Cementerio municipal
    Dirección: Carretera San Antonio Huista-Jacaltenango
  • Cementerio Los Olivos
  • Cementerio Segundo Carrrizal
  • Cementerio De Corral Chiquito

Localities[edit | edit source]

  • Canabaj
  • Canxac
  • Chibacabe
  • Chilacabé
  • Chinacá
  • Chiquiliabaj
  • El Carrizal
  • Guacamayas
  • La Estancia San Lorenzo
  • Las Lagunas
  • Llano Grande
  • Ocubilá
  • Ojechechel
  • Oregano
  • San Lorenzo
  • San Lorenzo Mazatenango
  • Seculque
  • Sujul
  • Talmiche
  • Tocojaz*Tojzalé
  • Xetenam
  • Zaculeu

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Huehuetenango (municipio)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huehuetenango_(municipio). Visited 28 July 2017.