Huddersfield Holy Trinity, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Huddersfield Holy Trinity, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Huddersfield Holy Trinity, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Huddersfield|
|Parish registers: 1819|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1820|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HUDDERSFIELD, a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; comprising the chapelries or districts of Golcar, Lindley, Longwood, Paddock, Scammonden, Slaithwaite, and part of Marsden; 40 miles (S. W.) from York, and 189 (N. N. W.) from London. The parish has Trinity district church. 
Trinity Church Huddersfield was created a chapelry in the year 1819 and lay within the parish boundaries of Huddersfield St Peter. It was one of several such district churches and chapelries within its boundaries includingAll Saints (1835), St Paul (1831), Christ Church (1825), and the chapelries or districts of Golcar (1829), Lindley (1830), Longwood (1797), Paddock (1830), Scammonden (1746), Slaithwaite (1679), and part of Marsden (1734).
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1562 (St. Peter), 1830 (All Saints), 1819 (Holy Trinity), 1871 (St. Andrew), 1852 (St. John), 1887 (St. Mark), 1831 (St. Paul), 1859 (St. Thomas).
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574. Date accessed: 28 October 2013.