Huddersfield, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Huddersfield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Huddersfield|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Marsden; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HUDDERSFIELD, a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; comprising the chapelries or districts of Golcar, Lindley, Longwood, Paddock, Scammonden, Slaithwaite, and part of Marsden; 40 miles (S. W.) from York, and 189 (N. N. W.) from London. The parish comprises...Trinity district church... and Christ Church, ...named Woodhouse. ...Two places of worship have been opened for Independents. ...Here are also two for Wesleyans, one of which was erected in 1819; one for the Society of Friends; one each for Primitive Methodists and Methodists of the New Connexion; and a Roman Catholic chapel. 
- Holy Trinity district church -1819
- St. Paul's Church -1831
- Christ Church - 1825
- Scammonden or Deanhead
Places of worship have been erected for the Independent Church--one in 1835, and one in 1845, respectively. Also two churches were built for Wesleyan Methodists, one in 1819; a meeting house for the Society of Friends; a chapel was built for the Primitive Methodists and one for the New Connexion Methodists. In 1833 a Roman Catholic chapel, was erected here.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Huddersfield, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|HUDDERSFIELD ST PETER PARISH (1562) Online Records|
|HUDDERSFIELD All Saints Parish (1830) Online Records|
|HUDDERSFIELD Holy Trinity Parish (1819) Online Records|
|HUDDERSFIELD St Andrew Parish (1871) Online Records|
|HUDDERSFIELD St John Parish (1852) Online Records|
|HUDDERSFIELD St Mark Chapelry (1887) Online Records|
|HUDDERSFIELD St Thomas Chapelry (1859) Online Records|
|Golcar Chapelry (1829) Online Records|
|Lindley Chapelry (1830) Online Records|
|Longwood Chapelry (1797) Online Records|
|Marsden Chapelry (1734) Online Records|
|Paddock Chapelry (1830) Online Records|
|Scammonden Chapelry (1746) Online Records|
|Slaithwaite Chapelry (1684) Online Records|
|Woodhouse Chapelry (1824) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Church Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]
Here are three important West Yorkshire database sets at Ancestry, which provide data on some of the poor living within some of the boroughs in the (West) Riding of Yorkshire:
- West Yorkshire, England, Select Removal and Settlement Records, 1689-1866
- West Yorkshire, England, Select Poor Law and Township Records, 1663-1914
- West Yorkshire, England, Bastardy Records, 1690-1914
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574. Date accessed: 28 October 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- Huddersfield and District Baptisms Collection