To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hucknall Torkard St John, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hucknall Torkard St John, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Hucknall Torkard St John was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1877 from Hucknall Torkard, Nottinghamshire. Ancient Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Hucknall St John

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1888-1973Marriages 1884-1952
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

 Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records[edit | edit source]

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes E -H to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.