To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hoylake, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hoylake, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MEOLSE, LITTLE, a township, in the parish of West Kirby, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirral, S. division of the county of Chester, 9 miles W from Birkenhead. In this township and Hoose is Hoylake, a commodious church, has been erected by the lady of Mr. Swainson, which affords great accommodation to the inhabitants and the numerous visitors attracted hither, who before had no place of worship nearer than the parish church, it is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and is a neat edifice in the Norman style. [1]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Hoylake parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hoylake Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1863-1903
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1863-1903
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records for St. Luke's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Hoylake, 1884-1948

Church records for St. Luke's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Hoylake
Film
Baptisms, 1884-1948.
1594191 Item 7
Baptisms, 1884-1948 (another filming).
2299472 Item 5

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Wirral (1894-1974)
  • Birkenhead (1974-98)
  • Wirral (1998+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Wirral (1894-1930)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 291-295. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch