Hoxton Holy Trinity, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
Hoxton Holy Trinity

Guide to Hoxton Holy Trinity, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hoxton Holy Trinity, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Shoreditch
Registration District Shoreditch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History

HOXTON (Holy Trinity), adistrict parish and Chapel of Ease. It lies in the civil parish of St. Leonard, Shoreditch.[1]

Holy Trinity Hoxton was created a chapel of ease, built in the year 1848. It lay within the civil parish boundaries of St Leonard Shoreditch.

1848 parish description
Trinity
is a Tower parish. It is adjacent to the City of London, in the hundred of Ossulstone, Middlesex. The patron is the rector of St. Giles’.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hoxton Holy Trinity in Shoreditch on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 566-569. Adapted. Date accessed: 5 February 2014.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.