Howard County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Howard County

Guide to Howard County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Ellicott City
Organized: May 13, 1851
Parent County(s): Anne Arundel, Baltimore[1]
Neighboring Counties
Anne Arundel  • Baltimore  • Carroll  • Frederick  • Montgomery  • Prince George's
See County Maps
Courthouse
Howard County, Maryland Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
MD Howard map.png
Adoption
John Edger Howard

County Information

Description

The County was named for John Eager Howard. The County has Ellicott City as its seat and the County was created May 13, 1838. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Howard County Courthouse
3430 Courthouse Drive
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: 410-992-2025 or 410-313-3000
Howard County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and land records.
Register of Wills has probate records. [3]

Howard County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1839 1898 1800s 1839 1840 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Made a separate county in 1838 from Anne Arundel County with a part from Baltimore County, but it was not formally recognized until 13 May 1851 by the state Constitutional Convention.
  • County seat: Ellicott City[5]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Unincorporated communities


Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Howard County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Howard County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 13,338
1870 14,150 6.1%
1880 16,140 14.1%
1890 16,269 0.8%
1900 16,715 2.7%
1910 16,106 −3.6%
1920 15,826 −1.7%
1930 16,169 2.2%
1940 17,175 6.2%
1950 23,119 34.6%
1960 36,152 56.4%
1970 61,911 71.3%
1980 118,572 91.5%
1990 187,328 58.0%
2000 247,842 32.3%
2010 287,085 15.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1860-1930.

Church Records

Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives. The following records, taken from its collection, have been digitized and made available to view for free online:

Contains the church records of:
  • Elkridge: Elkridge Methodist Church

Church of England

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Howard County Deed Books (1840-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Howard County

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Howard County, p. 151. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Howard served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Howard:

- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Cavalry (6 months, 1863-1864), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade Company I
- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company B (1st) (Howard Dragoons).[7]

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Charles E. Miller Branch & Historical Center
    Howard County Library System
    9421 Frederick Rd
    Ellicott City, MD 21042
    Phone: 410-313-1950
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society
    Central Maryland Chapter
    P. O. Box 648
    Columbia, MD 21045
  • Howard County Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 274
    Columbia, MD 21045
    Email: info@hcgsmd.org
    Website
  • Howard County Historical Society
    9421 Frederick Road
    Ellicott City, MD 21042
    Phone: 410-480-3250
    Email: info@hchsmd.org
    Website
  • Sons of Confederate Veterans
    Isaac Trimble Camp #1836
    Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #69
    2832 Nine Mile Circle
    Catonsville, MD 21228
    Email: terrymkl@aol.com
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

  • Zimmerman, Kenneth E. Guide to Research in Howard County, Maryland. Woodstock, Md.: K. E. Zimmerman, 1997.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Howard County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County%2C_Maryland, accessed 2 August 2018.
  7. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.