To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Howard County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Howard County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Howard County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Howard County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1844
County Seat Kokomo
Courthouse
Address Howard County Courthouse
104 N Buckeye St
PO Box 9004
Kokomo, IN 46904
Ph. 765.456.2204
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1875 1844 1875 1844 1846 1844 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from unorganized territory (Carroll/Cass/Miami) in 1844. Named changed from Richardville to Howard in 1846. [2]
  • County Seat: Kokomo [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Tilghman Howard. It's county seat is Kokomo and was founded 1844. It is located in the Central area of the state.[4]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Carroll  • Cass  • Miami  • Grant  • Tipton  • Clinton

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
Billion Graves WorldCat Billion Graves
Indiana Interment
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Howard County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Histories[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Carroll CountyCass CountyMiami CountyGrant CountyTipton CountyClinton CountyIN HOWARD.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Howard County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Howard County.

Civil War Books

  • Howard in The Civil War" in History of Howard County, Indiana. By Jackson Morrow. 1909. Indianapolis: B.F. Bowen. (Pages 130-196, Regiments. Pages 188-196, "Soldiers Who Died In The Service".) Online at: Vol.1 - Internet Archive; Vol. 2 - Internet Archive; Other Libraries
  • Smith, Kent A.Russiaville in the Civil War:a Civil War history of Honey Creek Township, Howard County, Indiana and its residents FHL book 977.285/R1 m2s
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records


Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Howard County Courthouse; 104 N Buckeye St; PO Box 9004; Kokomo, IN 46904; Ph. 765.456.2204

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1844.
County Recorder has land records.
County Health Dept has birth, death and burial records.

Archives[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
  • Howard County Historical Society and Museum / Seiberling Mansion
    1200 W. Sycamore St.
    Kokomo, IN 46901-4386
    Phone: 765-452-4314
    Website
  • Howard County Genealogical Society
    220 N Union
    Kokomo, IN 46901
  • Greentown Historical Society
    PO Box 313
    Greentown, IN 46936
    Phone: 765-628-3800
    Email: greentownhistory@comcast.net
    Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Places[edit | edit source]

  • Kokomo
  • Greentown
  • Russiaville
  • Indian Heights

Townships

  • Center
  • Clay
  • Ervin
  • Harrison
  • Honey Creek
  • Howard
  • Jackson
  • Liberty
  • Monroe
  • Taylor
  • Union

Other places

  • Alto
  • Cassville
  • Center
  • Hemlock
  • New London
  • Oakford
  • Phlox
  • West Middleton

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Howard County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Indiana 3/28/2017.