Houston County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Houston County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Dothan
Organized: February 9, 1903
Parent County(s): Dale, Geneva, Henry[1]
Neighboring Counties
Dale  • Early (GA)  • Geneva  • Henry  • Holmes (FL)  • Jackson (FL)  • Seminole (GA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Houston County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Houston County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named after George Smith Houston, a Governor of Alabama.[2] The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Houston County Courthouse
114 North Oats Street
PO Drawer 6406
Dothan, AL 36302
Phone: 334-677-4800
Houston County Website

Health Department has birth, death and burial records
Probate Office has marriage, probate and land records from 1903
Clerk Circuit Court has court records from 1903
Registrar in Chancery has divorce records from 1903 [4]

Houston County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1908 1903 1908 1903 1903 1903 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Houston County:[7]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Houston, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Houston county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Houston County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
191032,414
192037,33415.2%
193045,93523.0%
194045,665−0.6%
195046,5221.9%
196050,7189.0%
197056,57411.5%
198074,63231.9%
199081,3319.0%
200088,7879.2%
2010101,54714.4%
Est. 2011102,36915.3%

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Houston County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Houston County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

HenryDaleGenevaEarly County, GASeminole County, GAJackson County, FLHolmes County, FLAL HOUSTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1908-15, 1926, 1928-36, 1943-51 The Dothan Eagle (Dothan, Ala.) at Ancestry $

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Dothan Alabama Family History Center
3199 Ross Clark Cir NW
Dothan, Houston, Alabama, United States
334-793-7425
Website


Enterprise Alabama Family History Center
110 Shell Field Rd
Enterprise, Houston , Alabama, United States
334-347-3631
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Troy University-Dothan Campus
P. O. Box 8368
Dothan, AL
36304
334-983-6556 ext. 327
Website

Houston Houston-Love Memorial Library
212 W Burdeshaw St.
P.O. Box 1369
Dothan, Alabama 36303
334-793-9767
Website

Dothan Houston Library
Main Branch
445 North Oates Street
Dothan, AL 36303
Phone: (334) 793-9767 Website

Dothan Houston Library
Ashford Branch
305 6th Avenue
Ashford, AL 36312
Phone: 334-899-3121

Dothan Houston Library
Westgate Branch
535 Recreation Road
Dothan, AL 36303
Phone: 334-699-2950

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Southeast Alabama Genealogical and Historical Society
P. O. Box 246
Dothan, AL
36302-0246
334-794-8378

Publications: Wiregrass Roots SEAGHS Magazine

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Houston County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/houston/ 06/06/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Houston, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Houston_County,_Alabama 06/06/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Houston County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Houston_County,_Alabama, accessed 17 October 2018.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.