To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hounslow, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Houndslow, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hounslow, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isleworth
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1708
Bishop's Transcripts: 1836
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HOUNSLOW, a district chapelry, and formerly a market-town, partly in theparish of Isleworth, but chiefly in that of Heston, union of Brentford, hundred of Isleworth, county of Middlesex, 9½ miles (W. S. W.) from London; The ancientchapel of the priory, which, after the Reformation, was used as a chapel of ease to Heston, was taken down, and the erection of a newchurch on its site was completed in Dec. 1829, There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

HOUNSLOW Holy Trinity, was created a district chapelry [by 1708], and was formerly a market-town, lying partly in the Parish of Isleworth, but mostly in the Parish of Heston, union of Brentford, hundred of Isleworth, County of Middlesex, 9½ miles west by southwest of London. The ancient priory chapel was, after the Reformation, used as a chapel of ease to Heston. A new chapel was built on its site, and was completed in December 1829.'

  • Holy Trinity - 1708
  • St Dunstan & Holy Angels - 1882
  • St George’s Barrack Chapel -
  • St Paul, Hounslow Heath - 1873

findmypast[2] has digitised Hounslow St Paul baptisms

  • St Richard of Chichester, Forge La -
  • St Stephen - 1877

There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hounslow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hounslow Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hounslow on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 562-566. Adapted. Date accessed 5 February 2014.
  2. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  3. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 562-566. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 28 April 2010).
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk