Hosanger, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hosanger, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Hordaland County
Hosanger


Guide to Hosanger, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library Hosanger clerical district. Contains parish registers for Hosanger clerical district which includes the parishes of Hosanger, Eksingedal, Mo and Seim. Mo parish was divided in 1881 and the divided part became Eksingedal parish; and Seim parish became part of Alversund clerical district in 1885. These parishes were separated from Hamre clerical district in 1749, and earlier records will be found there. The target board for film 1282898 item 5 says "Vaksdal" but the book says "Eskingedal".

Images of digitized parish registers are available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Hosanger: 1750-1927
Hosanger/Eksingedal: 1881-1900
Hosanger/Hosanger: 1750-1927
Hosanger/Mo: 1750-1925
Hosanger/Seim: 1750-1898
Hosanger/Vike kap: 1896-1922


For earlier records see: Hamre

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. Hamre clerical district included Hamre, Hosanger, Åsane, Meland, Mo, Seim, and Sund. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 122972 Item 1. It is available as a database at Digitalarkivet database and also as scanned images.
  • 1865 Census Hosanger clerical district included Hosanger, Mo, Seim, and Eksingedal parishes. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 123072 Item 3. It is available as a searchable database at Digitalarkivet. 1865-telling for 1253 Hosanger
  • 1875 Census Hosanger clerical district included Hosanger, Mo, and Eksingedal parishes. Microfilm copies are at the Family History Library on Film 273482.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Eknæs, Askild, 1868-1955: Ættebok for Hosanger fra til omlag 1960: A genealogy of the people in Hosanger in Hordaland county until about 1960. FHL 948.32/H3 D2

Farm Names

25 Aaseim 58 Askelneset 61 Askvik 43 Aurdal lille 33 Balen 35 Bernes indre 36 Bernestangen 33 Birkeland 66 Bjørge 65 Bjørndal 56 Bjørsvik, Bogen 49 Botnene 33 Brørhaugen 11 Byseim nordre, Dalen, Drangen, 58 Eide indre, Eidsheim, 69 Eidsnes indre 46 Eikefet 47 Eikemo 63 Eknes indre, Eknesvågen, Erdalen, Ese (Eidsheim), 15 Fjeldskaal 16 Fjeldskaalnes 49 Fjelle 6 Flataas 27 Fotland, Fotlandsvåg, Furnes, 26 Galteland 9 Gjeitreim 3 Grimstad 5 Grønaas 34 Hanstveit 50 Haukøen 2 Haustveit, Haugstveit, 40 Heimvik 17 Heldal 28 Helland 60 Heltveit, Herland, Hetlevik, 23 Hole, Holme, 18 Hoshovde 55 Husdal, Indre Eide, 39 Kleiveland, Kleppe Austre 31 Kleppe vestre, Kvammen, 1 Langeland, Langenes, 12 Litland, Lyngnes 30 Løtveit 20 Mjøs 52 Molvik 53 Mulen 10 Myren, Nedre Eknes, Nonås, 8 Nordaas 7 Nynnaas 35 Nystuen 51 Paddøen 19 Præstegaarden 42 Romereim 14 Røsland nordre 36 Sjotræet 54 Skaar, Smeviken, Stor Urdal, 57 Storsæter 41 Stusdal 28 Stølen 33 Stølen 35 Stølen 4 Sveneim 28 Sæteren 48 Sætre, Toen 62 Totland, Totlandsviki, 24 Tveiten 38 Tyssebotnen 37 Tyssen 29 Vare 68 Vassel, Vetle- Urdal, 44 Vike, Ytre Eide, 67 Æse 21 Øfsthus nordre, Øvre Eknes, Åsheim

Genealogy

Bergerud, Inger Louise, 1940-: I slektens forspor: med røtter i slektene Eckhoff, Hagemann og Moss samt bondeslekter fra Nordfjord, Hosanger og Fana: Just Hagemann Eide og alice Louise Mjøs: deres forfedre og slektninger.

Inkluderer Eide, Eidsnes, Absalonsen, Eckhoff, Hagemann, Mjøs/Moss, Fehr, Nottveit, Steinsvik, Søviknes, Øijordsbakken/Øyjordsbakken, Jensen, Hansen, Johnsen, Pedersen, Thomassen etc.

Med register.

Family history and genealogy of the Eide and Mjøs families of Norway. Ancestors and descendants of Just Hagemann Eide (1906-1983) and his wife, Alice Louise Mjøs (b. 1913), the daughter of Albert Olsen Mjøs and Lydia Matilde Johnsen. Just and Alice Eide lived in Bergen for awhile, then moved to Tertnes in Åsene, and their later years were spent in Askøy. The Eide family originates from the Eide farm in Olden, Sogn og Fjordane county, and the Mjøs family has lived on the Mjøs farm in Hosanger parish, Hordaland county even before 1660. Other family members came from Nordfjord (Stårheim), Sogn og Fjordane co. and elsewhere in Norway. FHL 929.2481 Ei26

Baird, Ingeborg Sofia Steffensen, 1887: Temple record book, 1600-1939. Consists of genealogical data, 1600-1939, with most temple ordinances, 1908-1944, for ancestry of Ingeborg Sofia Steffensen Baird, a Mormon convert who immigrated from Norway to Brigham City, Utah. Ancestry lived in Hosanger and nearby areas, Hordaland County, Norway.

Probate Records

1702-1910: Records are found in Nordhordaland judicial district.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names