Horsford, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Horsford, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||St Faith's|
|Registration District||St Faiths|
|Parish registers: 1597|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
HORSFORD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of St. Faith, hundred of Taverham, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from Norwich. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Horsford All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
A medieval church which in the gable end tiling has the year 1703 as an indication of a restoration possibly linked to a fierce storm in that year.
More recent renovation includes a new organ.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Horsford, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Horsford, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference unknown parish records remain in parish with incumbent
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
| Baptisms and burials 1601-1609, 1623-1637, 1668-1812 Marriages 1601-1609, 1623-1636, 1668-1811
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526784 Item 1
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Horsford on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 553-557. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.