Horry County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Horry County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
|Horry County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
|Founded||December 19, 1801|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Horry County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African Americans
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church Records
- 6.6 Court
- 6.7 DNA
- 6.8 Genealogy
- 6.9 Land
- 6.10 Local Histories
- 6.11 Maps
- 6.12 Migration
- 6.13 Military
- 6.14 Newspapers
- 6.15 Periodicals
- 6.16 Probate
- 6.17 Taxation
- 6.18 Vital Records
- 7 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 8 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 9 Websites
- 10 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the county residents to become an extremely independent populace, and they named their county "The Independent Republic of Horry". The county was named after, and in honor of, Revolutionary War hero Peter Horry who was born in South Carolina around 1743. Horry started his military career in 1775 as one of 20 captains, elected by the Provincial Congress of South Carolina, to serve the 1st and 2nd Regiments. In 1790, he was assigned to the South Carolina militia under Brigadier General Francis Marion. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.
Horry County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Horry County Courthouse
1201 Third Avenue
Conway, SC 29526
Horry County Clerk of Court
1301 Second Ave.
Conway, SC 29526
Horry County Register of Deeds
1301 Second Ave.
Conway, SC 29526
Horry County Probate Court
1301 Second Ave.
Conway, SC 29526
Probate and marriage records
8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1801--Horry County was created 19 December 1801 within the overarching Georgetown District. Prior to that time it was called Kingston County or on the 1800 federal census Waccamaw County but these never became functioning counties.
County seat: Conway 
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
Federal troops rifled and vandalized courthouse offices in 1865; many loose papers and volumes of the clerk of court (including early deeds to 1828) were destroyed. The files of the commissioner of equity were virtually wiped out, and loose probate papers left in disarray. At some later date, pre-1887 General Sessions Indictments were lost as well.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Horry County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Ark - Surfside Beach
- Buck's Upper Mill - also called Upper Mill
- Cherry Grove - North Myrtle Beach
- Jeremiah Vereen's - Myrtle Beach
- Long Bay
- Longwood - Murrells Inlet
- Lucas Bay - Youhannah
- Old Oliver Place - Waccamaw River
- Peter Vaught's - Myrtle Beach
- Snow Hill - Conway
- Thomas Randall's - Little River
- Tilghman Point - also called Little River, Thomas Randall's
- Upper Mill - also called Buck's Upper Mill
- Withers - Myrtle Beach
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|[www.scgenweb.org/horry/cemeteries/index.htm SCGenWeb]||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|SCGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- To view a cemetery list, see Horry County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- Horry County Historical Society - Cemetery listings
- National Cemetery Administration
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1829-1920 - South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Horry County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1810[edit | edit source]
- Teel, Dorothy Owens and Three Rivers Historical Society (Hemingway, S.C.). The 1810 Census of Georgetown District and the 1810 Census of Horry District, South Carolina. 199-?. FHL Collection 975.78 X2t 1810
1850[edit | edit source]
- Woodard, Janet H. Population Schedules of the Seventh Census of the United States, 1850, Roll 854, Horry County, South Carolina Original Returns of the Assistant Marshals, White and Free Colored Population. 1980. FHL Collection 975.787 X29w 1850
1860[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Catherine Heniford and Ashley Patterson Cox. Index to the 1860 Census of Horry County, South Carolina. Macon, Ga.: Waccamaw Records, 1989. FHL Collection 975.787 X22L 1860
- Lewis, Catherine Heniford, Ione Woodall and Ashley Patterson Cox. 1860 Census of Horry County, South Carolina Publication No. 4; Combining Original Copy Prepared by Ione Woodall and an Index Prepared by Catherine H. Lewis and Ashley P. Cox, Jr. Macon, Ga.: Waccamaw Records, 1996. FHL Collection 975.787 X2L 1860
1880[edit | edit source]
- Horry County Historical Society. 1880 Census of Horry County, South Carolina. Conway, S.C.: Horry County Historical Society, 1970. FHL Collection 975.787 X2c
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist Church[edit | edit source]
Special Collections and Archives
206 James B. Duke Library
3300 Poinsett Highway
Greenville, SC 29613
Phone: (864) 294-2194
South Carolina Baptist Historical Collection Records of over 500 individual South Carolina Baptist churches from published books, church histories, congregational records, associational minutes, biographical materials, newsletters, hymnals, and sermons. Microfilmed records can be borrowed through the InterLibrary Loan department of your local university or public library.
Episcopal Church[edit | edit source]
Early residents of what is now Horry County were served by these colonial parishes.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
DNA[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
Horry County families he studied include Bell (Folder no. 58 FHL Film 954526), Gore (Folder no. 343 FHL Film 954542), Livingston (Folder no. 520 FHL Film 954550), Thomas (Folder no. 889 FHL Film 954596).
- Andrea, Leonardo. Horry Co., S.C. Data. Typescript, microfilmed 1974. FHL 954248 Item 13
- Horry County, SC Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Horry County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Cooper - Cooper, John P. Sketches of John Purley Cooper and Wife Ethel Mae Bethea: with Notes on Their Ancestry, Descendants, Some Kindred and Random Recollections. Ruxton, Md.: J.P. Cooper, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 C784cj.
- Davis - The Jones, Skipper and Davis Family of England, Wales and America. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 7120.
- Durant- Andrea, Leonardo. Durant. Typescript, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975: FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
- Hankins - Media Research Bureau (Washington, D.C.). The Hankins Family with Data on Descendants of Rev. Dennis Hankins of Horry District, South Carolina and Madison County, Florida. MSS., 1950. FHL 978076 Item 15
- Hughes - Hughes, Virginia Hayden and Charles Evan Hughes. Hughes, Hardee, McCumbee, Milligan Connection of the Carolinas. n.p.: n.p., 1996. FHL Book 929.273 H874hv.
- Lewis - Stevenson, Mary Lewis. William Lewis of Horry County, South Carolina. n.p.: Charlotte Stevenson, 1960. FHL 929.273 L589st; digital version at World Vital Records ($).
- Lewis - Long, Dorethea M. The Lewis Family: Portrait of a People. Conway, S.C.: D.M. Long, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ldm.
- Lewis - Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ljd; CD-ROM no. 1036
- Livingston - Andrea, Leonardo. "Livingston Family of Horry County, South Carolina," Miscellaneous Family Records. Typescript. Microfilmed 1977: FHL Film 978079 Item 12.
- McCracken - Ronemous, Hulda W. Rob & Joe: McCracken & Williamson Ancestors in Eighteenth Century South Carolina. Baltimore: Gateway Press, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 M137rh.
- Tindall - Tindall, Anne Gibson. The Family of John G. Tindall of Horry County, SC and Allied Families. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), (199-?). FHL Book 929.273 T492tg.
Land[edit | edit source]
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Horry County:
|1801-1865||Horry District *|
|1769-1801||Georgetown District Records Lost|
|1710-1719||Proprietary Land Grants|
* Deed books E, G, and H are missing
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- The Independent Republic of Horry, 1670-1970: Items from the Independent Republic Quarterly, Official Publication of the Horry County Historical Society. Conway, S.C.?: The Society?, 1970. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Lewis, Catherine Heniford. Horry County, South Carolina, 1730-1993. (Columbia, South Carolina : University of South Carolina Press, c1998), 229 pages. Horry County's past does not fit neatly into South Carolina history, Lewis demonstrated its decided differences--political, social, and economic--from other regions of the state. Book found at FHL 975.787 H2L and Other Libraries.
- Epps, Florence Theodora , editor; Horry County Historical Society. The Independent Republic of Horry, 1670-1970 : items from The Independent republic quarterly, official publication of the Horry County Historical Society (South Carolina : s.n., 1970?), 100 pages. Family letters, photographs, accounts, and documents are accurate through the pages of The Independent Republic Quarterly. Book found at FHL FHL 975.787 H25ia and Other Libraries.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Horry County for European settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
General[edit | edit source]
- "Soldiers, 1775 - 1865," Independent Republic Quarterly, July 1975, Volume 9, Issue 3. Horry County Historical Society : Conway, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.787 H25i.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- "General Francis Nash and the encampment on Little River Neck, 1776-1777," Independent Republic Quarterly, 2006, Volume 36, Issue 3. Horry County Historical Society : Conway, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.787 H25i.
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Horry County, p. 185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- Military Records. Horry County Historical Society. Internet site. Has links to other Civil War information that is connected to Horry County.
- "Horry County - South Carolina Troops Confederate Roll of the the Dead". Horry County Historical Society. Internet site. Gives a list of men who died, some ages, Company involved in and comments.
Regiments. Civil War service men from Horry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Horry County or from many of its men.
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army), Company F - (also known as Horry Rebels)
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company A, Company D, Company E, and Company I
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company A, Company F, and Company K
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company L
- - 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company B Roster
- - 9th Battalion, South Carolina infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company A, Company D, and Company G
- - 10th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company A, Company B, Company C, Company G, and Company M
- - 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A
- - South Carolina State Troop Regiments Seed Corn Units, Junior Reserves, 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)
- Brunson, Joseph Woods. Pee Dee Light Artillery of Maxcy Gregg's (Later Samuel McGowan's) Brigade, First South Carolina Volunteers (infantry) C. S. A., a Historical Sketch and Roster (University, Alabama : Confederate Pub., c1983), 60 pages. Includes rosters of the three Pee Dee infantry companies (from Darlington, Horry and Marion counties) which were supported by the Pee Dee artillery. The battery was officially Company D of the 1st South Carolina regiment. Book found at FHL 975.7 M2bjr and Other Libraries.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Horry County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Aynor Journal (Aynor, S.C.) 1988-current.
- Grand Strand Journal (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1972-1973.
- Horry County News (Loris, S.C.) 1936-1952.
- Horry News (Conwayboro, S.C.) 1869-1877.
- Loris Times (Loris, S.C.) 1991-current.
- Myrtle Beach Daily News (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1956-1956.
- Myrtle Beach News (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1935-1956.
- Myrtle Beach News (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1956-1961.
- North Myrtle Beach Times (North Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1971-current.
- Sun-News (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1961-current.
- The Conway Field (Conway, S.C.) 1958-1964.
- The Field (Conway, S.C.) 1903-1958.
- The Field and Herald (Conway, S.C.) 1964-1989.
- The Horry County News and the Loris Sentinel (Loris, S.C.) 1952-1954.
- The Horry Dispatch (Conwayboro', S.C.) 1861-1863.
- The Horry Herald (Conway, S.C.) 1886-1897.
- The Horry Herald (Conway, S.C.) 1899-1964.
- The Horry Independent (Conway, S.C.) 1980-current. Available online at Footnote.com ($)
- The Horry Progress (Conway, S.C.) 1883-1888.
- The Independent Republic (Conway, S.C.) 1897-1899.
- The Loris Scene (Loris, S.C.) 1992-current. Available online at Footnote.com ($)
- The Loris Sentinel (Loris, S.C.) 1954-1991. Available online at Footnote.com ($)
- The Myrtle Beach Journal (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1971-1972.
- The Myrtle Beach Journal (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1982-1992.
- The Myrtle Beach Sun (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1950-1955.
- The Myrtle Beach Sun and the Ocean Beach News (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1956-1961.
- The Telephone (Conwayboro, S.C.) 1878-1883.
- The Tribune (Tabor City, N.C.) 1989-1991.
- The Tribune (Tabor City, N.C.) 1991-current.
- The Weekly Journal (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1975-1976.
- The Weekly Observer (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) 1974-1977.
University of South Carolina Library Catalog
- Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete
- The Sun News (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) Online edition.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- Independent Republic Quarterly - Issues have been scanned and are text searchable, see website.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.
Probate Records, 1803-1873. Probate Court Horry County, South Carolina. Microfilm of original records in the Horry County courthouse, at Conway, South Carolina. FHL Film 1029438
- Horry County Wills 1799-1818 (transcripts). See names of testators. South Carolina Pioneers
- Horry County Administrator's Bonds 1803-1818 South Carolina Pioneers
- Index to Horry County Will Book A (1799-1818); Will ook B (1819-1821); Will Book C (1841-1857) South Carolina Pioneers
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Horry County.
- 1827-1828 - Horry County, South Carolina Tax Records, 1827-28, Independent Republic Quarterly, Vol. 10, No. 4 (Oct. 1976).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Horry County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Horry County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1791-1861 - Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 by Brent H. Holcomb  FHL Collection WorldCat - index
- 1861-1912 - Horry County Marriages Abstracted from Newspapers - Bride Listing - abstract
- 1861-1912 - Horry County Marriages Abstracted from Newspapers - Groom Listing abstract
- Prior to 1911 - Horry County Marriage Records Prior to 1911 - re-created marriages, not complete
- 1911-1916 - Horry County Marriage Records, July 1, 1911 to Dec 16, 1916 - abstract
- 1911-1951 - Marriage Records (Horry County, South Carolina), 1911-1951  FHL Collection - records
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Horry County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1791-1861 - Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 by Brent H. Holcomb  FHL Collection WorldCat - index
- 1816-1990 - South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — index
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]
- Horry County Historical Society
606 Main St.
Conway, SC 29526-4340
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Horry County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Horry County, SCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Horry County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- South Carolina Pioneers South Carolina Pioneers
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Horry County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horry_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Horry County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
- A History of Kingston District (County) in Carolana.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Horry County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horry_County%2C_South_Carolina, accessed 26 December 2019.
- "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" (map) in Carolana.
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- Holcomb, Brent H. Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861. Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
- Horry County (South Carolina), Clerk of the County Court, Marriage records (Horry County, South Carolina), 1911-1951, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002-2005.
- Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.