Hornchurch, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Hornchurch, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Andrews Church, Hornchurch Essex
|Hundred||Havering atte Bower Liberty|
|Poor Law Union||Romford|
|Parish registers: 1576|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1766|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Hornchurch|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Hornchurch, is a village, a parish and a subdistrict in Romford district, Essex. The village stands between the rivers Rom and Ingerbourn, 2 miles SE of Romford railway station. The parish contains also the hamlet of Havering Well. The subdistrict contains 5 other parishes.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hornchurch, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Hornchurch St Andrew, Essex Parish Online Records|
Burials 1576-1898: ERO
Later records: Not deposited
Marriages 1928-1985: ERO
|Hornchurch Holy Cross, Essex Parish Online Records|
Built 1935 as chapel-of-ease to St Andrew
St Mary Mother of God
Marriages 1947-1989: ERO
Baptisms 1895- date
Marriages 1939- date: Not deposited
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Hornchurch on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted 20 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.