To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Horham, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Horham, Suffolk)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Horham, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HORHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 2 miles (S. W.) from Stradbroke. The Baptists have a small chapel here.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources[edit | edit source]

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Horham and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Horham is in Hoxne district. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Horham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Suffolk Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Suffolk, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1850 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Horham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1911
1536-1902
1538-1909
ANC 1538-1850
1538-1850
1538-1850
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Suffolk Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

There are census records available for Horham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Horham Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Horham was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain
    • British History Online - HORHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 2 miles (S. W.) from Stradbroke. There is a place of worship for Baptists. [3]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 547-550. Date accessed: 2 May 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 547-550. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.