Hordaland County, Norway Genealogy
|Norway Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Hordaland ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Hordaland is a county in Norway, bordering Sogn og Fjordane, Buskerud, Telemark and Rogaland. Hordaland is the third largest county after Akershus and Oslo by population. The county administration is in Bergen. Before 1972 Bergen was a separate entity (Bergen county) from Hordaland.
Family History Resources[edit | edit source]
Government Offices and Sites[edit | edit source]
Cities, Parishes and Clerical Districts in Hordaland County[edit | edit source]
- Herdla (Herlø)
- Hordabø (Bøe)
- Opdal (Uggdal)
- Røldal (before 1848 in Rogaland)
- Støle (Strødle)
- Åkra (Åkre)
Church Records/Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- These are the most important records you will use, and a majority of your research will be found in them. All civil registration was kept by the church parishes until 2012.
- Digitalarkivet: Digitized parish registers of Hordaland
- Norway Indexed parish register transcriptions
- The Family History Library has microfilms for all Hordaland parish registers up to about 1920. These can be viewed at the library or at a Family Histor Center near you.
- By clicking on the parish links above, you may find direct links to all the records for that parish.
- You do not have to be fluent in Norwegian. These records use a very limited, specialized vocabulary that is easy to learn. For help reading and interpreting theses records, see Norwegian Genealogical Word List, Norway Handwriting, and Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lessons 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and 3: Handwritten Records
- Parish Register Headings for Norway: This pdf gives the translation of headings for the records in different time periods. When a record is written with labeled columns it is much easier to search. Much of the material you read in each column will just be names and dates, since the meaning of those names (child, parents, godparents, minister) only has to be read once, in the column heading.
- For more detail on the contents of these records and how to use them, see Norway Church Records and Norway Civil Registration.
Censuses[edit | edit source]
The parish priest's census (scanned)
- Sunnhordland prosti, Manntall 20, 1664 - 1666
- Hardanger prosti, Manntall 21, 1664 - 1666
- Nordhordland prosti, Manntall 22, 1664 - 1666
The bailiff and the magistrate's census (scanned)
- Sunnhordaland fogderi, Nordhordaland fodgeri, fogdemanntall 13, 1665
- Hardanger len, Indre Sogn fogderi, Ytre Sogn fogderi, Fogdemanntall 14, 1664-1665 (parishes in Indre Sogn and Ytre Sogn belongs to Sogn og Fjordane county)
- 1801 Census
- 1865 Census
- 1875 Census
- Norway Census, 1875 FamilySearch database
- 1885 Census (cities only)
- 1891 Census partial index, full scan
- 1900 Census
- 1910 Census full index, not scanned
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Militærrulle 1658 for Bergenhusiske infanteriregiment, Nordhordlandske kompani
- Militærrulle 1714 over mannskap i Nærøy skipreide
- Militærrulle 1722 for Voss
Passenger Lists[edit | edit source]
- Pass for emigration to America issued in Bergen 1842-1860
- Skipslister for Bergen-New York 1871-1873
- Skipslister for Bergen-Quebec (Canada) 1865-1873
- Emigranter over Bergen 1874-1930
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
- Hardanger og Voss
- Bergen Diocese
- Nordhordaland Deanery
- Sunnhordaland Deanery
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Oppebørselbok for Rosendalsgodset 1796-1800. (A record of taxes received for Rosendal Baroniet from 1796-1800).
Return to Norway