Hopkins County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hopkins County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Hopkins County

Guide to Hopkins County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Madisonville
Organized: December 9, 1806
Parent County(s): Henderson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Caldwell  • Christian  • McLean  • Muhlenberg  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Hopkins County Courthouse, Madisonville, KY
Location Map
Hopkins County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for Samuel Hopkins. The County has Madisonville as its seat and the County was created 1806. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Hopkins County Courthouse
10 S Main Street
PO Box Drawer 737
Madisonville, KY 42431-2064
Phone: 270-821-7361[3]
Hopkins County Website

Hopkins County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1806 1852 1808 1807 1800 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

1829, 1864--Courthouse disasters destroyed some records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1806--Hopkins County was created 9 December 1806 from Henderson County.
  • County seat: Madisonville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Grapevine
  • Hamby
  • Hecla
  • Ilsley
  • Jewel City
  • Kirkwood Springs
  • Little Valley
  • Mitchell Hill
  • Mount Carmel
  • Murphy Ford
  • Oak Hill
  • Olney
  • Oriole
  • Pee Vee
  • Rabbit Ridge
  • Richland
  • Sixth Vein
  • Southard
  • Vandetta
  • Veazey
  • Victoria
  • Wesco
  • West Hanson
  • West Side Heights
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Hopkins, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Hopkins county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1810 2,964
1820 5,322 79.6%
1830 6,763 27.1%
1840 9,171 35.6%
1850 12,441 35.7%
1860 11,875 −4.5%
1870 13,827 16.4%
1880 19,122 38.3%
1890 23,505 22.9%
1900 30,995 31.9%
1910 34,291 10.6%
1920 34,133 −0.5%
1930 37,449 9.7%
1940 37,789 0.9%
1950 38,815 2.7%
1960 38,458 −0.9%
1970 38,167 −0.8%
1980 46,174 21.0%
1990 46,126 −0.1%
2000 46,519 0.9%
2010 46,920 0.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Hopkins County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Anderson] Mills, Elizabeth Shown. "A Case Study in Family Reconstruction Within a 'Burned County,'" The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1983):3-19, Vol. 30, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1986):174-187; Vol. 30, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1986):263-273; digital versions at American Ancestors ($); Historic Pathways; reprinted in Genealogy: A Publication of the Family History Section, Indiana Historical Society, No. 78 (July 1983):1-10 (available for free online at Historic Pathways). Digital version also at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 27 (1983), v. 30 (1986).
  • [Ashby] Ashby, Stephen. Ashby Family, Ky. Wills and Marriages of Hopkins County, Ky. Typescript, 1949. FHL Film 858667 Item 6
  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp
  • [Crow] Hecathorn, Ann Austin and Catherine Dulany Austin and Mary Louise Garner. John S. Crow and Nancy W. Hutcheson of Mecklenburg County, Virginia and Hopkins County, Kentucky: A Compliation of Collected Materials Pertaining to Their Ancestors, Their Lives and Their Descendants. [Earlville, Ill.]: A.A. Hecathorn, 1992. FHLnbsp;Book 929.273 C885a
  • [Hampton] Corum, Frank. "The Benefit of an Unusual Name: Charles Chester Colson Hampton," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 4, No. 1 (May/June 1995):3-11. FHL Book 975.51 D25t. [Discusses Virginia origin of the Hampton family of Hopkins County, Kentucky.]
  • [Henry] Austin, Catherine Dulany and Ann Austin Hecathorn. Joseph Henry and Alvira Crow Henry of Hopkins County, Kentucky and Jefferson County, Illinois. [Earlville, Ill.]: A.A. Hecathorn, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 H396ac
  • [Rudd] Corum, Frank. The Rudd Family of Hopkins County, Kentucky. Hanson, Ky.: F. Corum, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 R831c
  • [Southard] Dugger, Gary D. The Southard Family of Hopkins County, Kentucky. Utica, Ky.: McDowell Publications, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 So87d; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Timmons] Corum, Frank. Captain George Timmons: Fact and Fiction. Madisonville, Ky.: F. Corum, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 T484c
  • [Tunstall] Morris, Whitmore. The First Tunstalls in Virginia, and Some of Their Descendants. San Antonio, Texas: W. Morris, 1950. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hopkins County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Crittenden CountyWebster CountyMcLean CountyMuhlenberg CountyChristian CountyCaldwell CountyKY HOPKINS.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Hopkins County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Companies I and K.
- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Johnson's) (Confederate), Companies I and K
- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Diamond's) (Confederate), Companies I and K

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hopkins County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Hopkins County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hopkins County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Hopkins County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Hopkins County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hopkins County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hopkins_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hopkins County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Hopkins County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hopkins_County,_Kentucky, accessed 20 August 2018.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.



Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Hopkins_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3339030"