Honley with Brockholes, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Honley with Brockholes, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Honley with Brockholes, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Huddersfield|
|Parish registers: 1812|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HONLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Almondbury, union of Huddersfield, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 3½ miles (S. by W.) from Huddersfield; containing 5383 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Honley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|HONLEY CHAPELRY (1771) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Almondbury to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ALMONDBURY PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Honley Cemetery Monumental Inscriptions: Courtesy of Glynn Burhouse
Burial Book: Courtesy of Glynn Burhouse (Note this is a partial list-5661 names out of the 8000 in the actual book covering 1857-1930.
Census records[edit | edit source]
May, 1811 Census: Courtesy of Glynn Burhouse
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 539-542. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.