To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Honduras Civil Registration

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Honduras Research Topics
800px-Flag of Honduras.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Honduras Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Honduras is Dwsmith2

How to Find the Records[edit | edit source]

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Offices to Contact[edit | edit source]

Registro Nacional de las Personas Tegucigalpa
Address: Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Telephone: +504 9775-2964

Edificio Simón, Central Archive
Blvd. Suyapa
Frente a Químicas DINAN
Telephone: +504-239-3947

Archivo Nacional, Tegucigalpa
Barrio El Centro
Avenida Cristóbal Colón
Calle Salvador Mendieta 1117
Tegucigalpa, M.D.C.
Honduras C.A.
Telephone: +(504) 222-8338

Archivo General de Centroamerica (Central American Archives or CAA)
Acquired by:
Center for Research Libraries
6050 S. Kenwood Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637-2804 USA

Telephone: (800) 621-6044 or (773) 955-4545
Fax: (773) 955-4339

List of civil registration offices
Directory of civil registration offices

Births[edit | edit source]

*1842 to 1881 - contact the Registro Nacional de las Personas Tegucigalpa for parish registers (18 books) (see above)
*1881 to present - contact the Civil Registration Office of each city; check Honduras, Civil Registration, 1841-1968 which may have your city
*1906 to present - contact the Archivo Nacional, Tegucigalpa (approximately 2,176,000 pages (see above)

Marriages[edit | edit source]

*1782-1819 - contact the General Archive of Central America (see above)

Deaths[edit | edit source]

*1881 to present - contact the Civil Register Office of each city; check Honduras, Civil Registration, 1841-1968 which may have your city

Divorces[edit | edit source]

*1819 and 1881 to present - contact the Civil Register Office of each city; check Honduras, Civil Registration, 1841-1968 which may have your city

Child Recognition[edit | edit source]

*1927 to present - Comayagua, Honduras (21 books)

Historical Background[edit | edit source]

Civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths began in 1881.[1]

Coverage and Compliance[edit | edit source]

Information Recorded in the Records[edit | edit source]

Births[edit | edit source]

  • Child's name and surname
  • Date and place of birth
  • Parents' names and surnames
  • Parents' residence and nationality
  • Legitimacy

Marriages[edit | edit source]

  • Names and surnames of the contracting parties
  • Their ages
  • Names and surnames of their parents
  • Their parents' names??
  • Baptismal faith
  • Sometimes witness' names

Matrimonial Chapters/Contracts??[edit | edit source]

  • Oppositions??
  • Requests??
  • Reasons
  • Separations
  • Names
  • Ages
  • Origins
  • Nationalities

Deaths[edit | edit source]

  • Names and surnames of the deceased
  • Date and cause of death
  • Names of parents

Divorces[edit | edit source]

  • Names
  • Dates
  • Kinships??
  • Place and date of marriage
  • Nobles of children??

Child Recognition[edit | edit source]

  • Name of child
  • Name of father
  • Legal declaration of the father

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Ryskamp, George. Finding Your Hispanic Roots. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997.